5 Ella Grasso Turnpike
Windsor Locks, CT 06096
Phone: (860) 623-9494
Fax: (860) 627-7462
Arts & Museums
Enjoy seeing 80 aircrafts featured in three display hangars with exhibits, films, and a gift shop. There are group tours and audio tours available.
A joint project of the Town of Windsor and the Connecticut Valley Tobacco Historical Society, the Luddy-Taylor Connecticut Valley Tobacco Museum features a remodeled existing tobacco curing barn with exhibits of early and modern equipment and a facility housing tobacco-related photographs, writings and other documents.
The New England Air Museum is a facility that is dedicated to showcase the wonders of aerospace world. Located at the Bradley International Airport, it was built in 1959. The museum hosts an array of events to keeps the visitors entertained and engaged. It is home to 66 aircrafts, helicopters and other flight-related machines. The museum facility is also available on rental basis for private events.
A non-profit organization "dedicated to the preservation of old time communications equipment and to educating the public," the 20,000 square foot Vintage Radio and Communications Museum features an extensive collection of phones, photographs, radios, televisions, motion picture and telephone equipment and vintage advertising and memorabilia.
While this sight might look like something you would see on Ghost Hunters, the Old Newgate Prison is the ruins of the prison that once stood here back in the early 19th Century. A tour of the grounds informs guests of early American prison reform and models of prison architecture. A must-see for history buffs and those interested in local lore.
Encouraging people regardless of race, religion or sex to come together through authentic works of fine art is the main goal of the Windsor Art Center. This non-collecting art center offers changing exhibits of local and regional artists, workshops, and programs throughout the year.
Located in the Richmond Art Center, the Sue and Eugene Mercy, Jr. Gallery "is the hub of the visual arts curriculum at Loomis Chaffee."
The Phelps Tavern Museum is located within the Captain Elisha Phelps House. David Phelps constructed the house in 1711, and later in 1771, his son Elisha made further additions to the house. Since its construction, the edifice has served as a home, hotel, meeting hall and tavern. It is now owned by the Simsbury Historical Society and operated as a museum.
This museum displays instruments and medications used during the 18th and 20th century. The museum's hours are Monday through Friday 10:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Connecticut Historical Society was established in Hartford in 1825. It is the official state historical society and is one of the oldest of its kind in the United States. The primary mission of the society is to inspire and develop interest in history through exhibitions, programs and Connecticut-related collections. It also features one of the largest costume and textile collections in New England. It also has a research center with over 270,000 artifacts and graphics, and over 100,000 books and pamphlets.
The home of Farmington Avenue in Hartford is where Mark Twain lived from 1874 until he moved to Europe (due to bankruptcy) in 1891. This is where Twain wrote some of his most famous works, such as Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court. There have been numerous recent efforts to completely renovate the estate along with the construction of the adjacent Museum which opened in 2003 that offers an exclusive documentary on the writer by director Ken Burns. Please note that only guided tours of the home are offered.
Started in 1796, way before Ripley's came into the picture, Joseph Steward, a painter and a museum curator, put up a small exhibition of his curiosity cabinet. The collection became so popular that Mr. Steward had to shift it to a much bigger mansion. Reopened to the public in the '90s, the museum now features rare oddities like peculiar birds, a huge lobster claw, a scary mummified hand, most of which were a part of Steward's original collection. The newest addition and perhaps, the most fascinating of them all is a stuffed two-headed calf that steals the show.