Quality Inn & Suites
12 Conejo Blvd
Thousand Oaks, CA 91360
Phone: (805) 495-7011
Fax: (805) 495-0647
Arts & Museums
Nestled in Newbury Park neighborhood of Thousand Oaks city, The Stagecoach Inn originally opened as The Grand Union Hotel in 1876. It ceased functioning as a hotel a few years later, and was handed over to Conejo Recreation and Park District to operate as an educational and cultural facility. Expansion of the Ventura Freeway in the 1960s, forebode a demolition plan for this structure; but it was moved and designated a California landmark. It was severely damaged by a fire in 1970, but was restored to its former glory and opened to the public as a museum in 1976. Supernatural incidents are believed to occur at the Stage Coach Inn, making it one of California's popular haunted locations.
On a mountaintop overlooking the valleys and Santa Cruz Island, the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library wows visitors by the view and size. This is the largest presidential library in the country. There is a full size replica of the Oval Office, and more impressively, the Air Force One that served from Nixon to George W. Bush is on exhibit, and visitors can walk through the interior. In honor of President Reagan's tireless effort to tear down the Berlin wall, a piece of it is placed in the library. The two sides of concrete clearly show the difference between East Berlin and West Berlin. The library also has many striking images of President Reagan, which gives visitors of all generations a good idea of the world in the 1980s. -Hoiyin Ip
Studio Channel Islands Art Center (SCIART), with its 20 studios and 4 galleries, is a splendid center for artists. An exotic sculpture garden adds to the aesthetic beauty of the place. The center organizes classes and workshops for artists and students regularly. Studio Channel Islands Art Center is a non-profit organization and offers the studios and galleries to students for free.
The house of skatepark also known as the Skatelab features the skateboard museum. The museum consists of over 5000 vintage skateboards, scooters and other items dating since the 1960's till today. This museum is accessible to the public and is free of cost. One can take a great tour in this place around the historic skateboard with it's history being revealed through the displays.
The Leonis Adobe in Los Angeles was built in 1844. It is one of the oldest existing homes in the city and was owned and occupied by Miguel Leonis until 1889 when he passed away. At present, it stands as a historic museum where one can witness a glimpse of the ranch Californian life. The Calabasas Creek Park is a delight to visitors and provides the recreated Chumash Village replete with stellar ironwork and stunning paintings. The house has also been in the limelight for its alleged ghost stories.
Actor Frances Lederer built this building between 1934-1936 with stones from his family's quarry. White Meadows serves as an art gallery and features rotating exhibitions of unique art available for purchase. You can find some great pieces for your home or office in this interesting gallery space where all of the artwork is different and interesting and is sure to spark conversation by those who see it. The artists come from all over the world and there are many local artists also represented.
Tracy Park Gallery is a quaint art gallery that opened its doors in 2005 and has been ever since promoting and fostering art in all its forms. Many exhibitions are held here that include sculpture, photography, collage work, modern art work and so on. This place not only showcases established artists but also is a lucrative platform for upcoming talent. The gallery is also famous for hosting the very prominent International Malibu Film Festival every year. The gallery hosts the closing day of the mega event with the last lot film screenings. The crème de la crème of the glamor world are said to attend this grand affair. Call ahead to know more.
Canoga-Owensmouth Historical Museum is located in the Canoga Park Community Center which used to be one of Canoga Parks oldest fire stations. It houses items documenting the history of the San Fernando Valley, from photographs to documents and paintings. The focus of the museum is on the old railroad stop called Owensmouth, which is today the city of Canoga Park. There is a lot to see and learn here, including the history of the Valley and Canoga Park. The museum is open on the second Sunday of each month from 2pm to 4pm. Tours can be arranged specially if required.
Always wanted to know how petroleum mining is done? Then the California Oil Museum is a place you should surely visit. This unique and interesting museum is all about the valuable natural resource found under Mother Earth. Started as headquarters of the Union Oil Company, this beautiful Queen Anne building now houses the museum. The museum tells you a story of the prosperity and wealth that petroleum brought into the lives of Californians. Interactive displays, exercises, videos, games and hand on experience of mining make the trip worthwhile. Not only children, but the grown ups would also love spending time here. The museum facility is also available as a rental space for private events like luncheons, conferences and meetings. For further information please contact the museum website.
The Valley Relics Museum is the labor of love of Tommy Gelina. It opened its doors in 2013 and has an impressive collection of artifacts, rare photos, archives, objects, antiques, books and more that give an insight to the history of the San Fernando Valley. These relics are personally curated by Tommy.
Famous as the setting of Helen Hunt Jackson's Ramona, Rancho Camulos Museum was originally home to Ygnacio del Valle, a renowned rancher, landowner and member of the California State Assembly. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1996, and is an excellent source of information on a bygone period of Californian history. Regular group and school tours are offered.
Although Oxnard is an hour's drive north from Los Angeles, this art gallery merits the trip. Constructed with funds donated by Andrew Carnegie in 1906, the building itself is really the main attraction and is mentioned in the National Register of Historic Places. The elegant Neoclassical structure was originally used as a library but was transformed into a cultural center in 1963. The art collection consists primarily of 20th century works, including the Carnegie collection that began in 1924. View works of masters like Arthur Beaumont, Cornelius Botke, Colin Campbell Cooper, Katherine Leighton and many others.