1500 South Avenue
Stratford, CT 06615
Phone: (203) 375-9528
Fax: (203) 375-4028
1500 South Avenue , Stratford, CT, US, 06615
- Phone: (203) 375-9528
- Fax: (203) 375-4028
Arts & Museums
Located in the Judson House this museum exhibits local Indian artifacts, early town government, the town's participation in the French and Indian war.
David Judson built the Capt. David Judson House in 1723 in Stratford, Connecticut. It was built in the colonial Georgian style of architecture. Among the many historic furnishings in the house, is a piano that belonged to William Samuel Johnson, an architect of the United States Constitution. In 1973, the Captain David Judson House was added to the National Register of Historic Places. The Capt. David Judson House has now been converted to a museum.
The National Helicopter Museum documents the history of the helicopter and aviation. Established in 1983 by Dr. Raymond Jankowich and Robert McCloud, the museum traces the progress from the rotary wings to helicopters and aircrafts. The showcased collection includes the gas turbine engines of Bell Helicopter UH-1 Iroquois and Boeing CH-47 Chinook, models of aircraft by Boeing,Bell and Sikorsky among many others. Visitors can also check the operational cockpit of the Sikorsky S-76 helicopter. The museum also organises events in the form of lectures by experts.
Environmental education facility with exhibits including the Trash-O-Saurus.
Connecticut Air and Space Center is located in Stratford, Connecticut. It was founded by George Gunther in the year 1998. It features displays which speak about the history of the Stratford Army Engine Plant, and there are 14 aircrafts on display and eight engines that were built at the plant. The space center is spread on eight acres (3.2 hectares) of land and has six buildings out of which two are operational. Only visitors above the age of 18 are allowed inside the space center.
Operating as a Connecticut non-stock corporation called "City Lights and Company," City Lights Gallery presents works by local, regional and emerging artists. City Lights Gallery hosts various community-based exhibitors and events throughout the year. The City Lights Frame Shop offers full-service framing services.
The Discovery Museum and Planetarium is a great educational facility located across the Fairchild Wheeler Golf Course. The museum opened to public in 1962 and has been entertaining and educating ever since. The museum has fun learning techniques and interactive exhibits to engage its visitors. It provides a wide scope to explore and acquire knowledge about science and technology. The museum also hosts several programs to entertain its young visitors. Apart from this, the museum premises are also available on rent for private functions.
Gallery hosts exhibitions annualy by local artists and traveling exhibits.
Opened for the general public on September 16, 2007, the Fairfield Museum and Historic Center is a monumental museum and library dedicated to the history of Fairfield, Connecticut. The museum boosts of a terrific collection of clocks, costumes and textiles, military items, dolls and toys, artistic furniture, and architectural fragments. Through the wide array of exhibitions, the museum offers tourists a glimpse of the state's colonial roots. A major highlight is the Landscape of Change exhibition, which reflects on Fairfield’s heritage.
Collections spanning 350 years of Fairfield history featuring changing and permanent exhibitions.
Located on the campus of Fairfield University, the Bellarmine University of Art houses a magnificent collection of art work and artifacts. Covering Classical, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Celtic, and Asian work in three distinct galleries, the museum spans a total of 2700 square feet (250 square meters). Situated on the lower floor of Bellarmine Hall, an English manor style mansion from the 1920s, the museum building itself is almost as astounding as the pieces on display within it. The Bellarmine Museum of Art is open from 10:00a to 4:00p from Mondays to Fridays during September through May. Admission is free.
Founded in 1914 by Mabel Osgood Wright, a pioneer in the American conservation movement and the founder of Connecticut Audubon Society, Birdcraft was