1878 Wilbur Ave.
Somerset, MA 02725
Phone: (508) 678-4545
Fax: (508) 678-9352
Arts & Museums
Luther Store is a historic store that sold almost everything from cheese to shoes. This store is now a museum where visitors can gain insight into the trading and retail industry in the bygone era. The shop was included in the National Register of Historic Places in 1978.
This museum is dedicated to the preservation of the special place that railroads played in the history of the Fall River area, as well as educating the public in regard to this captivating and nostalgic past. Situated in railroad cars, this museum traces and elucidates the history and development of railways and trolley services in the Fall River region.
The Torpedo Boat PT-617, also known as the Big Red Cock and Dragon Lady, is the only surviving boat of its kind. IT was the most utilized, combat tested PT boat in the World War 2. Today, the boat is a museum ship at PT Boat Museum in Fall River. It was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1989. The boat carried with her Mark 13 torpedoes, guns, .50 caliber machine guns, rifles and grenades.
This museum, located in a Greek revival styled mansion, features exhibits of artifacts that recall the era when the Fall River area was the
This museum features one of the world
Early Victorian fire station houses the town's first fire engine, purchased in 1802 as well as the volunteer fire department
This interactive museum mirrors the ecosystem that surrounds it, and features wildlife exhibits, touch tanks, hands-on displays, a night time cornfield, and the exhibits having to do with the Narragansett shoreline; the piece de resistance is an exact replica of a thirty-five-foot-long right whale.
This 48-acre living history museum depicts life on a late 17th century marsh farm. A variety of farm animals roam the grounds while cattle graze in the fields. One can even watch massive oxen handle heavy work. There is also an heirloom garden and a variety of outbuildings to be explored, including a blacksmith shop. Coggeshall Farm is host to the Rhode Island Wool & Fiber Festival, held annually the 3rd Saturday in May.
This museum houses artifacts from the native peoples of the Americas, Africa, Asia, and the Pacific, exploring the great richness and diversity of cultures to be found throughout the world; a gift shop is open during museum hours, and educational programs and guided tours are available.
This building houses a museum full of rare examples of military weapons, artifacts, shoulder arms, sabres, and other artifacts, as well as documents and other memorabilia dating back to the time of the American Revolution.
This organization offers a library and a vast collection of artifacts from Bristol's three hundred year history, and the curious may call for information and hours.
The Herreshoff Marine Museum/America's Cup Hall of Fame is "dedicated to the education and inspiration of the public through presentations of the history and innovative work of the Herreshoff Manufacturing Company and the America's Cup competition." The Herreshoff Marine Museum features over 60 significant boats and the Nathanael Greene Herreshoff Model Room, which holds a collection of 500 of Captain Nat's models used to create his designs, including his America's Cup defenders. The museum of the Hall of Fame offers a collection that includes plaques honoring the inductees, half-hull models of challengers and defenders, such artifacts as spars, steering wheels and tank test model hulls, and special exhibits about the America's Cup.