Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo
KM 22 Autopista Las Americas
Phone: (809) 549-2525
Fax: (809) 549-2727
Arts & Museums
Opened in 1990, the National Aquarium boasts a modern, open-air design and a glorious location overlooking the Caribbean. Roughly 3000 live specimens of 250 species of marine life inhabit the friendly waters here. The staff is dedicated to the study, promotion, protection and distribution of information on both marine and freshwater flora and fauna. There are lectures and guided tours every day. Videos and talks are available for school groups.
Designed by architect Joe Gleave, this monument to Christopher Columbus is a 46-meter tall cross, constructed of completely white marble. El Faro a Colón has housed the remains of the explorer since his tomb was moved from the Cathedral of Santa María la Menor in 1992. At night, powerful lights illuminate this Christian symbol and project its shadow against the sky. Areas inside the monument are used as exhibition rooms, archives, a library and a museum.
The old Colonial buildings in Santo Domingo are various, but none is as impressive as The Tower of Homage, which is located at the very center of what used to be a military compound. The tower was built in 1503 and it is the oldest military tower constructed in the New World. For the most part, the tower served as a prison. Today it is simply a tourist attraction and a reminder of the way things once were.
This store and museum, founded in 1998, is located in the Colonial Zone in a colonial style building with a very pleasant atmosphere. The museum, which is on the second floor, presents history and general information regarding larimar, a beautiful semiprecious blue stone discovered in the mid-1970s and found only in the Dominican Republic. Fine exclusive larimar and amber jewelry crafted in 14 and 18K gold can be purchased here. Silver items are available as well. Free admission.
Built at the beginning of the 16th century, in late Isabeline Gothic style, this home once belonged to the writer Francisco Tostado. Its most striking feature is a stone twin window. Originally the home had large gardens and orchards bordering the sea, but these no longer exist. After the death of its second owner the house was abandoned. It now houses the Museum of the Dominican Family of the Twentieth Century where an interesting collection of antiquities is displayed.
Built in the 16th century, the Royal Household Museum houses both the Palace of the Governor General and the Palace of Royal Audiences. The former, in the northeast part of the building, is a sober design embellished with gothic Isabeline decorations. The latter, in the southeast section, has a series of arches in white porcelain brick on the ground floor, and low-arched windows of gothic style on the upper level. Since 1976 the entire complex has been a museum, housing pieces from the island's Hispanic period. Admission is DOP10 for native adults, DOP15 for tourists, DOP5 for students. Children get in free.
At the Museum of Rum and Sugar Cane, visitors can gain an insight into the history of rum making. It holds several tools and equipment used in the manufacturing of rum. Also, visitors can learn about the manner in which sugar cane by-products are used in making it. Techniques and equipment used in sugar cane harvesting can also be found here, in addition a garden, where actual sugar cane is being cultivated. The museum also houses a collection of vintage Dominican rum labels, and displays pictures of major rum makers of the country.
Founded upon the orders of Fray Nicolas de Ovando, probably sometime after 1504, this hospital also served as a church. The first phase of its construction was completed in 1519. According to E. Walter Palm, the Brotherhood of Our Lady of the Conception continued the construction of the hospital in 1533, adding modern elements, including additional buildings. The hospital was abandoned in the mid 18th century and since the beginning of the 19th century, it is in ruins.
The building that houses this museum at one time belonged to Juan Pablo Duarte, considered Father of the Country. He was an important figure in local history who led the movement for independence that culminated successfully in 1844 when Haitian rule, begun in 1822, came to an end. On display in this museum are various objects and documents related to the life and beliefs of the man responsible for the Dominican Republic being what it is today.
Bordering the Ozama River, this area boasts cobblestone streets and an impressive group of buildings dating back to the 16th-Century. The Colonial Zone of Santo Domingo permits us to travel back through more than 500 years of history and architecture. The palaces have been converted into fascinating museums, and many of the area's oldest structures are now quaint bars, cafés and small hotels and restaurants.
This cultural center located in a colonial building with a beautiful, welcoming inside patio, serves as an art gallery where Dominican painters display and sell their wares. Works available to the public include those by famous local painters including Cándido Bidó, Guillo Pérez and Silvano Lora, among others. You can also find Dominican and Mexican handicrafts here.
This church was founded in 1510 by the Dominican fathers Pedro de Cordoba, Anton de Montesinos, Bernardo de Santo Domingo and a lay brother. In 1532 the first chair of theology was established here, which in 1538 made way for the first university in America, today the Independent University of Santo Domingo. In 1746 repairs were made, including decorative baroque additions to the gothic structure of its façade. In 1825 it was closed, then later reopened to house various other religious orders, but in 1954 the Dominicans reclaimed their old home when the order returned to the country. Open to visitors one hour before the masses daily.