Quality Inn & Suites
8929 Old Number Six Highway
Santee, SC 29142
Phone: (803) 854-2121
Fax: (803) 854-3558
Constructed in 1848, Indian Field Methodist Campground, situated just north of Saint George, is a large camp meeting site that was added to the National Register of Historic places in 1973. Renovated in 1970, this Methodist campground features an open-air pavilion made of wood, surrounded by 99 cabins two stories high. The inspiration for Indian Field Methodist Campground's design is said to have come from several mentions in the Book of Leviticus.
The Francis Beidler Forest is a vast stretch of wild sanctuary that is nestled in the Four Holes Swamp. Its on-site Audubon Center is the starting point to know more about this forest and its surrounding area. The center is also responsible for the conservation of this sanctuary and protection of its inhabitants. This center also conducts ample activities that include bird watching, walking tours, special camps and so forth. It was declared as a National Natural Landmark in 1979, and is also a part of the Ramsar Wetland of International Importance.
Hillcrest Recreational Park is a scenic recreational area nestled on State Road. This beautiful park remains a well-equipped camping site. A well-maintained tennis court is also found here.
The Claflin University is a respected name in Orangeburg since 1869. This university has been the breeding ground for many visionaries and veterans of South Carolina.
Moseley House was built to the designs of Charles Coker Wilson, a celebrated architect. Constructed in the year 1540, the structure remains a fine Italian wonder commissioned by the Moseleys. It is located on Russell Street.
The Williams Chapel is a historic African Methodist Episcopal Church built in 1915. Constructed in the Gothic Revival style of architecture, it has been designed by Whittaker, Miller F. and Minger I.J. The church is still in use and conducts regular services and ceremonies to bind the community. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.
This historic Old Presbyterian Church Cemetery dates back to the year 1835. Nestled at the intersection of St. Paul Street and Doyle Street, this cemetery remains the final resting place of several dignitaries of South Carolina.
The majestic Orangeburg Confederate Monument was established in the year 1893 by the county's brave women. A major historical landmark, it commemorates the heroic efforts of those who laid down their lives for their homeland. The plaque consists of a Uniformed Confederate commando statue on top of a long podium.
Memorial Plaza is a scenic recreational area situated on Russel Street. The park is home to a beautiful fountain and some historic sites. The breathtaking Edisto Memorial Gardens were formerly located here.
The historic St. Paul's United Methodist Church dates back to the year 1836. Situated on Amelia Street, this ancient structure runs several ministries like music, Sunday school, and many more.
Admire some breathtaking rose plantations at Edisto Memorial Gardens. The garden is home to nearly 4000 shrubs which represent almost 75 types of roses. Nestled on Highway 301, the garden remains the venue for Orangeburg Festival of Roses.
Horne Wetlands Park is a scenic recreational area situated on Riverside Drive. The park is home to a long boardwalk which navigates through pristine river basins and dense forests. Walkers can explore the rare wildlife and plants of the marshland, apart from some spectacular vistas of the surrounding landscape.