Quality Inn Historic District
1111 N. Ponce De Leon Blvd.
Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone: (904) 824-5554
Fax: (904) 829-2948
1111 N. Ponce De Leon Blvd., Saint Augustine, FL, US, 32084
- Phone: (904) 824-5554
- Fax: (904) 829-2948
Turn back the clock and soak up some fascinating history at Americas first mission, founded in 1565 in St. Augustine. It was at this site that Menendez knelt to kiss the wooden cross presented to him by Father Francisco Lopez de Mendoza Grajales, the chaplain of his expedition, and here that Lopez celebrated the first parish mass and began his missionary work. A bronze memorial to Father Lopez stands on the lagoon's eastern bank, along with the Great Cross, erected as a memorial of the Mission's 400th anniversary. Admission is free.
The Old John's County Jail is an excellent jumping off point for tours of historic St Augustine. In addition to ample parking, it is home to one of several sightseeing trains, extended covered trucks that ferry tourists between St Augustine's many historic points of note. The Old Jail also features a modest museum and the perennial gift shop, and is just steps from the gates of the old colonial quarter.
Approximately 35 miles south of Jacksonville is where the Spanish explorer Ponce de Leon is believed to have come ashore on April 2, 1513 in search of an elusive 'fountain of youth'. The Landmark Cross, consisting of 27 different stone slabs, is on display. Stroll through the excavations of the original colony of St. Augustine, the continent's first European settlement. The planetarium outlines Ponce de Leon's voyage using celestial navigation.
This was St Augustine's original place of interment for the residents of the old colony and from its days as an early American city. The headstones are a veritable chronicle of St Augustines early history and show the transition from one national affiliation from the next in many cases. Located just outside the old city gates, this makes an interesting quiet detour on a walking tour of the colonial quarter.
Step back in time as you visit the oldest remaining European fortification in the nation. Castillo de San Marcos dates back to 1672 and is a fine example of military architecture from the Spanish empire. It served as a prison for a short time and was declared a national monument in 1924. Immerse yourself in history during one of the fort's historic reenactments, living history events or spooky torchlight tours at night. The fort's original cannons are periodically fired during the summer months.
This drug store is nothing like today's pharmacies. Located on Orange Street at the corner of Cordova, this old-time spot sports wooden floors, old cash registers and a wood and glass apothecary filled with bottles of old remedies, elixirs and tonics. In the adjacent gift shop, you can find collectibles, jewelry, pewter figures and Christmas items.
The Old School House is a national treasure said to be the oldest surviving wooden schoolhouse in North America. Built more than 200 years ago, it made its debut as a schoolhouse until 1788, when Spanish rule ended. Sturdy construction has enabled it to withstand the ravages of time, it's held together with wooden pegs and handmade nails! Animatronic robots are dressed in period costumes, designed to depict schoolmaster and students on a typical 18th Century day.
An open air, living history museum which is located on over one and a half acre and which depicts the complete history of St. Augustine through archeological artifacts excavated in St. Augustine and from shipwrecks off the coast of Florida. There are nine historic buildings on site, including the Government House Museum and the Spanish Military Hospital, and you will meet the residents and craftspeople of mid-18th century St. Augustine while visiting this unique attraction.
Built on a generous lot of land donated by Henry Flagler, this historic Romanesque Revival style church features cone-shaped turrets and decorative brickwork.
A living memorial to the first Greek settlers who came as slaves in 1768, this shine is called "The Jewel of St. George Street" and features a magnificent Orthodox Chapel filled with Byzantine style frescoes, as well as a historic museum that contains exhibits such as artifacts, photographs, and historical documents and which tells the story of the First Greek Colony in the New World.
Serving as a legacy to the architectural contributions that Henry Flagler made in St. Augustine, this historic church was built around the turn-of-the-century and is one of the loveliest churches in St. Augustine. The church features a terracotta spire, lovely terracotta moldings, and a light golden wood finish inside.
Visit a bit of the old world at St. Augustine's historic St. George Street and Spanish Quarter Village. St. George Street is a quaint pedestrian mall, closed to all motorized traffic. Most of the buildings are reproductions of homes and shops one would have seen in St. Augustine centuries ago. Plenty of shops and restaurants are available and a myriad of street performers provides entertainment—you can meet with and talk to colonists and soldiers as they go about their tasks, mimicking daily life during the mid-18th century.