1600 rue Bouvier
Quebec, QC G2K 1N8
Phone: (418) 622-4244
Fax: (418) 622-4067
Arts & Museums
House of Coulombe-Dorion was bought by the Coulombe family in 1975. The house is one of the oldest houses in the Limoilou neighborhood and its architecture reflects French and English influence. This old beauty faced the threat of demolition because of industrial development, but was later saved. The house is now a museum and also the headquarters of the Society of Saint-Charles River. The house now features permanent exhibits talking about the ecosystem of Saint Charles River.
Les Artisans du vitrail is a welcoming place where artisans are busy working on their masterpieces on stained glass. While taking a tour, visitors come to understand how intricate pieces of stained glass art are created. The museum also educates visitors about the history of art of stained glass. Here, artisans are involved in restoring old stained glass work as well creating new masterpieces like lampshades, doors, and other articles. Visitors can buy products such as glasswares, frames, candles etc as a token of remembrance from here as well.
Le Cercle is undeniably the best when it comes to hosting art events, for it does so with taste and panache. Primarily an eat, drink and entertainment space; it also aids in promoting art through its galleries. Apart from this, the venue hosts concerts and presents upcoming and local musicians alike who fill the air with intoxicating tunes. Hence, an evening here is full of revelry. The restaurant serves delectable contemporary dishes and complements them with a list of well stocked spirits. A complete entertainer, Le Cercle is to be visited only if you seek a great time out with family or friends.
The history of the Musée de géologie René-Bureau can be traced to the early 19th Century, when the 400-odd specimens by mineralogist, René Just Haüy, was found in the archives at Séminaire de Québec. From 1852 onwards, professors from Université Laval contributed towards expanding the collection, which increased to boast around 15,000 specimens by the 1960s. In 1962 when the Pavillon Adrien-Pouliot was established, the museum found a new home at the Université Laval. The museum houses over 40,000 specimens of minerals, fossils and rocks from around the globe. Guided tours of the museum are provided; call ahead for further information.
Henry-Stuart House is named after its prior owners. This beautiful house symbolises the early British architectural style and appears as a jewel amidst the urban Quebec city. The house has a unique square roof and a beautiful welcoming British style garden. Inside the house, the accessories and styling of the Stuart family is kept intact. Guided tours are arranged from June to September. Tea and lemon cakes are served at the end of the tour.
Located within the L'Institut Universitaire en Santé Mentale de Québec, this museum is named after Sister Lucienne Maheux, who has immensely contributed to the development of psychiatry in Quebec. Her collection of artifacts related to psychiatry propelled the founding of the Musée Lucienne-Maheux. The museum takes visitors through the history of L'Institut Universitaire en Santé Mentale de Québec, which was the first psychiatric hospital in the city, since its inception in 1845. It highlights the developments introduced in the field of psychiatry over the years as well as current practices. Photographs, documents, medical instruments and other apparatuses comprise the exhibits on display. Schedule an appointment before visiting.
The 20,000 works at Musée National des Beaux-arts du Québec range from the traditional landscape paintings of Cornelius Krieghoff to the controversial abstraction of Paul-Émile Borduas and the avant-garde sculptures of Serge Tousignant. Non-Quebec artist Arthur Lismer's lovely St-Hilarion is one of the Museum's prized possessions. A huge slate of activities awaits art, music and cinema lovers. The museum hosts numerous events and exhibits throughout the year, so call ahead for more information.
L'Îlot des Palais are two palaces from the 14th Century which are now an archaeological museum, in Quebec City. The two palaces are over 300 years old and during olden times served as the administrative office of New- France. It also houses prison cells and stores from that era. A trip to this museum is a unique experience for the whole family. The tour includes almost real archaeological digs, games and treasure hunts. It's a great way for kids and adults to learn about the history of these colonies, interactively.
Many emigrants left the British Isles, Ireland and continental Europe after 1815, at a time when great epidemics were sweeping through Europe. For fear of transmission, a quarantine station was set up on Grosse Île, near the Quebec Port. Grosse Île and the Irish Memorial National Historic Site commemorate the importance of immigration to Canada and the tragic events experienced by the Irish immigrants on this site, primarily during the typhoid epidemic of 1847. Nowadays people can learn about how the island operated, and spend a day there. A train goes across the island and makes a number of stops during the one-hour ride. Call to check for timings.
Discover the fascinating world of dolls in this museum located in the Artillery Park. Les Dames de Soie displays the steps of doll making from the molding of the head and hands to the selection and detailing of the doll's clothes. Several dolls are on display and show the importance of play in children's lives, especially in past centuries. The museum can also give a second youth to your old dolls or custom make new dolls for you. A souvenir shop is on the premises and admission to the museum is free.
At Les Délices de l'Érable, it is all about celebrating the Canadian national tree, Maple. Nestled in Quebec City's Old Quebec neighborhood, this store is home to a huge selection of saccharine products made from the Maple leaf. Maple syrups, sugar, biscuits, seasonings, cakes, pies, sorbets, spread, coffee, teas and much more are available here. This beautiful store also houses a Maple Museum within it. The exhibits and artifacts take visitors through the history of the Maple and enlightens them on the process of how delights are sourced from it.
La Citadel de Québec, also known as the Citadelle of Quebec, is a fortress that stands as a prominent attraction with much historical relevance. Built between 1820 and 1850 by the French engineer Vauban, this star-shaped structure has Norman and French influences. The fort houses the Royal 22e Regiment, the French regiment of native forces that is a popular attraction today. It is also the official abode to the Governor General of Canada. There are buildings inside the citadel that have an array of collections and memorabilia from uniforms, photographs to drawings, weapons, documents and so on. You can also find here military prisons, magazines, museums and more exhibiting the history of this national site. Catch the grim beef-eaters do their majestic parade in the Guard ceremony held every morning. A must visit!