1723 E. Perry St.
Port Clinton, OH 43452
Phone: (419) 732-2929
Fax: (419) 732-3237
Founded in 1872 as a wine cooperative, this picturesque, historic limestone winery produces some of the finest, award-winning wines in the region. The winery also features a cooking school, one of Port Clinton
The whole family will enjoy this amusement facility that features an 18 hole miniature golf course, a go-cart track, a video arcade, and bumper boats.
Ohio's largest multi-gauge operating model train layout with features including: airport, ski lodge lake with real water, and drive-in movie theater. They lso have a unique gift shop with Thomas the Tank Wooden Railway, train-related gift items and most popular gauges of train sets and accessories.
Get to know, or even pet, animals from around the world while at this park that sees the addition of around 75 newborn animals each year. In addition to feeding and observing the many animals, the park also features stocked fishing, a picnic area, and a gift shop that offers collectables, handicrafts, jewelry, sportswear, souvenirs, Cherokee handicrafts, and an antique Cigar Store Indian.
Explore the Lakeside community that offers a relaxed and serene atmosphere to its visitors. This historical community comprises multitude of recreational activities that are fun; cultural events are too held here. For more details, check website.
A leader in American wines, this award-winning winery offers a wide range of wines, gifts, and home winemaking supplies, as well as tours and tasting several different wines or juices with a knowledgeable and informative host.
The Johnson Island is a vital location of a prisoner-of-war camp for Confederate officers captured during the American Civil War. It is spread over a colossal 300 acres (120 hectares) on the Sandusky Bay at the coast of Lake Erie. It was constructed in 1862 and the prison was spread over 16.5 acres (6.6 hectares). The 12-story prisoner housing barracks are encompassed by a 15-foot (4.6-meter) high wooden stockade. End of the war resulted in the abandonment of the prison, and further in the year 1990, the site was designated as a National Historic Landmark.
The winemaker Gustav Heineman had employed a few workers to dig a well in 1887. It is these workers who discovered this cavern, covered in beautiful blueish crystals. Later research found that the “cave” was really a cavity in a sedimentary rock structure called geode. As such, the Crystal Cave in Ohio is the largest known geode in the world. Still owned and operated by Heineman's Winery, the caves are open to public tours between May and September as a part of the Heineman Winery Tour. Pretty as a picture, these caves make for a good visit with or without some wine from Heineman.
This natural limestone cave gives up its dark secrets, mysteries, and facts to explorers and features an underground lake and multitude of strangely beautiful geological formations. Many people enjoy the group and lantern tours that are offered and other activities and interests to explore are available on site including an antique car museum, gemstone mining, and a War of 1812 themed miniature golf course.
The celebrated Perry's Victory and International Peace Memorial is a renowned site that commemorates the Battle of Lake Erie, in close proximity to Ohio's South Bass Island. It encompasses a massive area cover of 25.38 acres (10.27 hectares). The memorial was established on the site in 1936. A distinctive feature of the site is that it celebrates the peace between Britain, Canada and the United States.
Jay Cooke House, popularly known as the Cooke Castle was said to be the summer home of Jay Cooke. The beautiful Italianate structure is surrounded by grass beds, the steps leads one to the entrance, the balcony features bays and looks stunning. The tower besides the house adds to the beauty of the home. Located on the island of Gibraltar, this castle like structure is amazing.
The St Mary's Catholic Church is a historic church located in Sandusky, Ohio. The church was built in 1873 and has visible Gothic style influences. The brick and stone structure of the church also features a steeple and a turret, as well as multiple windows in different shapes. The church was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1975.