Quality Inn & Suites Jackson Int'l Airport
360 Gilchrist Drive
Pearl, MS 39208
Phone: (601) 932-4025
Fax: (601) 932-4119
360 Gilchrist Drive, Pearl, MS, US, 39208
- Phone: (601) 932-4025
- Fax: (601) 932-4119
Whether you are bringing a carload of youngsters or an entire industry's worth of executives, this full-service receptive agency can make your tour of Jackson memorable and efficient. Offering customized tour planning and step-on guides to the city and area, Harold Johnson and his friendly staff can cater a sightseeing plan for groups ranging in size from one to 100. As the company operates its own fleet of tour buses, you will not be encumbered with middle men and extra charges. The company's years of local experience translate into a comprehensive and informed tour for all.
What was once a rural town is now home to a thriving arts revival district known as Fondren. This region was once the location of the Mississippi Lunatic Asylum, and has since evolved immensely to become a diverse community of residences, shops and performance spaces.
The Eudora Welty House & Garden offers a glimpse into the world of award-winning author Miss Welty and her love for plants. Laid by her mother in 1925, the garden spreads over a vast three-quarters of an acre and displays a colorful array of stunning blossoms. Poppies, daylilies, daffodils, and many more beautiful creations thrive here. Benches at regular intervals offer a restful break while you walk leisurely through the five sections. The carefully retained house throws a light on the life of Miss Welty and has some other interesting works of this accomplished writer and photographer. A walk to this location is a surely enriching experience.
Thought to be the oldest standing house in Jackson, this handsome residence was built by James Hervey Boyd, Jackson's three-time mayor during the 1850s. Now owned by the National Society of Colonial Dames of America, the museum is furnished with period furniture throughout, including a sofa from Abraham Lincoln's law office in Springfield, Illinois.
This imposing downtown monument honors the memory of the thousands of brave Mississippians who have given their lives in defense of our country in every war. A remarkable cast aluminum elevator is one of the most noteworthy aspects of the structure, which features panels and doors painted in panorama to depict the Battle of Ackia. Inside the building an informative military museum covers Mississippi's role in American war history from 1776 through Vietnam. Admission is free.
To the casual visitor, this may seem like a peculiar attraction, but not when one considers the role that Mississippi's two most significant industries have played in the history and economy of the state. The Agriculture and Forestry Museum features over 40,000 square feet of exhibition space, displaying artifacts, machinery and documents that pay tribute to farmers and lumbermen throughout Mississippi's history. The museum gift shop serves a limited menu of refreshments and offers a variety of unique and educational souvenirs. Admission is $4 for adults, $3 for seniors, $2 for children ages 6-18, and $.50 for children 3-5.
This team of local specialists stands ready to provide you with information on area business development, statistics about the regional economic climate, building specs, site inspections and other critical data. President Duane O'Neill and his staff have all the resources to make a temporary or permanent relocation to Jackson smooth and efficient. New resident information, long-term visit planning, housing markets, special events planning and permits are all available. This group is located in Old Fire Station #1, a historically renovated landmark on the same block as Jackson City Hall.
This hulking three-story example of utilitarian architecture is located in the heart of Jackson, a few short yards behind historic City Hall. For 70 years, the structure served the city as Central Fire Station #1—a bit too late to prevent the widespread, flaming devastation at the hands of the Union's General Sherman. After being decommissioned in favor of more modern fire fighting facilities, a series of off-again, on-again plans to demolish the building were never realized. In 1978, it was restored to its original elegance and became the new home of the Jackson Chamber of Commerce.
Operated by the city of Jackson, this art gallery is housed in one of the oldest buildings in the area, dating back to the 1860s. Dedicated to promoting local contemporary artists, it features the work of up-and-coming Mississippi artisans. The permanent collection includes the work of Andrew Bucci and William Hollingsworth. On the first Sunday of each month, a reception is given, and a new exhibition is unveiled. Admission is free.
Dedicated in 1930, this hulking grey megalith was designed to serve as a temple of justice for Hinds County and was closely patterned after various Greek temples. Comprised of limestone and local granite, the courthouse is a masterpiece of Art Deco design. A quick upward glance at the north and south entrances will reveal intimidating guardians, indeed. Towering sculptures of Moses and Socrates, history's most formidable giver and interpreter of law, keep a diligent vigil over justice in the capital city.
Founded in 1837, the Clarion-Ledger is the second-oldest company in the state, and one of the nation's few remaining statewide-circulated daily newspapers. Purchased by Gannet in 1982, this remains Jackson's chief source for daily news, and is delivered to most hotels and available at all area news stands. Tours are available at the site, or visit their Web site for a virtual, on-line tour.
The aptly-dubbed Heritage Building boasts a distinguished heritage in the history of local commercial enterprise. The six-story brick landmark went up in 1905 as the Jones-Kennington Dry Goods Store. Later known as simply Kennington's, the venerable department store finally sold out several decades ago, after which the structure became the Jackson flagship location for new commercial giant McRae's. A stirring specimen of early 20th Century urban commercial architecture, the storied Heritage building is now subdivided among various local enterprises that maintain offices within.