Quality Hotel Axel Opera
15 rue de Montyon
Phone: (33) 1 47709270
Fax: (33) 1 47704337
15 rue de Montyon, Paris, FR, 75009
- Phone: (33) 1 47709270
- Fax: (33) 1 47704337
An extension of passages Panoramas and Jouffroy, this covered walkway was constructed in 1847 and is named after, M. Verdeau. The delicate, neoclassical glass roof of the Passage Verdeau gives it an airy and charming feel. This lesser known aisle has a stretch of antique stores, rare bookshops and vintage dealers making it an interesting place to shop for souvenirs. There is also a more than century old photo shop that makes for an interesting visit.
Located between the Bourse and the Opera districts, the Panoramas Passageway is the oldest covered passageway in Paris. It was built in 1799 on the location of the Hotel Montmorency-Luxembourg. The point of interest of this passageway was its two high towers located at the main entrance of the gallery, where panoramic paintings were exhibited. In 1807, the Variétés Theater settles in, where Offenbach had his fame in the 1830s. In 1831, both towers were demolished and reconstruction works started. The Passage des Panoramas is 133 meters (436 feet) long, composed of five galleries; nowadays it is the center of philatelic, or stamp-related trade.
This impressive church is situated in the 9th arrondissement of Paris. It was constructed in 1855 by architect Louis-Auguste Boileau in 13th-century Gothic style. The interior of the church features an abundance of light and color, with marvelous stained glass windows. Église Saint Eugène - Sainte Cécile occasionally hosts choral and classical concerts.
This Evangelical Lutheran church is situated in Paris' 9th arrondissement. It occasionally features choral and classical concerts.
Passage des Princes is a covered passageway linking Rue Richelieu to Boulevard des Italiens in the 2nd arrondissement of Paris. It is 80 meters (263 feet) long and was inaugurated in 1860 under the name of Passage Mirès. It was the last covered alley built in Paris; Baron Haussmann made this decision, as he was responsible for the transformations and renovations of Paris during the Second Empire. Following a real estate scheme, the passageway was destroyed in 1985 and rebuilt identically, several original elements of decoration were reused. Since 2002, it has had one main theme: there are mainly toy shops in the Passage des Princes.
The Notre-Dame-de-Lorette is a neoclassic masterpiece by renowned architect, Louis-Hippolyte Lebas. The church was consecrated in 1836 and its design finds inspiration in the basilicas of Rome. Four Corinthian columns mark the south facade while the three statues on its pediment represent faith, charity and hope. The sculptural rendition by Charles-François Lebœuf depicts angels bowing in adoration to the Virgin and Child. The interiors are an eclectic contribution of several great artists and features a collage of paintings dedicated to significant moments in the life and times of Mary. Marvel at the ornate choir and coffer ceiling in blue and gold, and soak in the beauty and tranquility.
This palace, whose size is simply stunning, was built by Brongniart at the request of Napoléon I in 1808. It was home to the Stock Exchange from 1826 until the end of the 20th Century. The majestic neoclassical facade is perfectly in keeping with its importance in the life of the capital. The allegorical statues represent Commerce, Justice, Agriculture and Industry. The building was extended in 1909 and the Salle de la Corbeille was added. The corbeille (a circular room surrounded by a railing, against which brokers would stand) was the bustling center of Paris' financial growth. When the stock market was computerized, the palace was transformed into a conference center. Most of the financial results are still announced from there.
Construction of the magnificent Synagogue de la Victoire began in 1867, to be opened to the public in 1875. The ornate architectural style is Roman with Byzantine flourishes, designed by the architect Aldrophe. The building is 44 meters (144 feet) in length and with a façade of 36 meters (118 feet). It is effectively the center of Jewish religious ceremony in France and today hosts a great number of conferences, classes, and activities.
Built in 1798 on the location of the former Filles-Dieu convent near the Cour des Miracles, Passage du Caire, in the Sentier district in Paris's 2nd arrondissement, is the oldest and the biggest pathway in the city. Its name comes from the passion for Egypt that developed after Napoleon's campaigns. This influence is obvious when you look at the façade decoration, decorated with three statues of the goddess Hathor. This pathway is composed of three galleries. The total length is 370 meters (1213 feet). It was first the place of printing houses and lithography. Nowadays, fashioning and accessories shops, which supply the Sentier district, occupy the pathway.
Bibliothèque Richelieu is a treasure house of some of the finest and oldest French manuscripts, periodicals and parchments. Not just French literature, one can also find Oriental and Western books housed here along with an extensive collection of ancient maps, medals, coins and vintage stamps. The library is not a single building but actually contained in several buildings, some of them which trace their origins back to the 16th Century.
Starting from the intersection at Sant-Augustin metro and running all the way till rue Drouot, Boulevard Haussmann, opened in 1864 to help ease Paris' transition from a medieval city to a modern capitol. Planned by Georges Haussman as part of an extravagant series of reforms, this boulevard is famous for infusing the then cluttered cityscape of Paris with refinement. Here you will find the immaculate Le Printemps and Galeries Lafayette, two must-see shopping hotspots for quality Parisian couture, home accessories and more.
Founded by Louis XIII in 1629, Basilique de Notre-Dame des Victoires is a historic landmark in Paris' 2nd arrondissement. Featuring an organ dating from 1739, the church occasionally hosts choral and classical concerts. For further Tourist Information, contact +33 8 3668 3112.