Quality Inn at Lake Powell
287 N. Lake Powell Blvd.
Page, AZ 86040
Phone: (928) 645-8851
Fax: (928) 645-2523
287 N. Lake Powell Blvd., Page, AZ, US, 86040
- Phone: (928) 645-8851
- Fax: (928) 645-2523
Arts & Museums
Navajo Interactive Museum in Tuba City allows you to explore the Navajo world through interaction. It has two permanent exhibits—the Explore Navajo Interactive Museum and Code Talker Exhibit. The entire space of over 7000 sq. ft. is used to get the general public acquainted with the Navajos and their lifestyle, history and culture. The two wood walkway bridges lead you into the domed metallic blue entrance of the museum, into the lobby and from there to the Emergence theatre that showcases artists who tell stories, and sing. In the museum they have sections for Navajo basket weaving, jewelry making, speaking history, art, hogans, elders, rug making, code talkers that were used during WWII, a cafe, and Tuba Trading Post. Keep a cool four hours to spend here!
Ruins of a small Anasazi village, dating back to the late 1100s, furnish visitors with a brief history lesson of how some of the early settlers in this area lived. Historians speculate this settlement numbered about 30 people and was in occupation for only a quarter of a century. Although there are an abundance of nearby Anasazi sites, the Tusayan site is the only one with easy access. Paved walking paths wind through the pueblo excavation and there is a small museum. Admission is free. Estimated walking time is 30 minutes.
Spread across six acres (2.43 hectares), this was the site of an Ancestral Puebloan village from 1050 to 1200 CE. The Anasazi were the largest tribes on the west of Colorado River and archaeological artifacts dug from this place gives a glimpse of the lifestyle of this prehistoric group of which little is known. The Anasazi State Park Museum or the Combs Village Site was established as a state park in 1970 and houses a museum in the form of a six room replicated dwelling which has the wall ruins and other excavated artifacts. Stroll through the interpretive trails to explore the many structures that have been found or visit the visitor center for further information. The park is also used by picnickers and is available for weddings as well.
Located at Yavapai Point, the observation station houses a museum. It is encased in glass, affording a great view of the suspension bridge crossing the Colorado River. Geological exhibits showing the creation of the Grand Canyon are on display; books, maps, postcards and videos are on sale by the Grand Canyon Association. During the day, the Park Rangers meet at this location for their informative talks and walking tours. This place is open daily from 8 AM.
Goulding's Trading Post, located in the Oljato-Monument Valley, is a local history museum. It tries to recreate the experience of the 20th Century by highlighting the trade practices back then and original items from that era. It consists of various areas, recreating different scenes such as Trading Post Bull Pen, Ware Room, Josef Muench Room, Living Quarters and so on. The site was included in the list of National Register of Historic Places in 1980.
The Kolb Studio, once the home and business of the Kolb Brothers, early Grand Canyon photographers, is located in the Village Historical District. The renovated building now houses a bookstore and auditorium, which are open to the public. Art exhibits are on display from April through October; admission is free. The studio bookstore is non-profit, and, as no sales tax is collected, books can be purchased at better prices than at most other stores.
One of the prominent legends in America's hospitality industry was Fred Harvey, a native born Londoner. He founded the Fred Harvey Company in 1876 and was instrumental in providing finer dining facilities for stops along the Santa Fe Railroad route. He was well known for the "Harvey Girls," those young, attractive, well-clad women who cheerfully served the travelers. A bit of that history is preserved at the Bright Angel Lodge's History room, which opened in the late 1960s. Exhibits on display include memorabilia such as early menus, a carriage, pictures and plates. Postcards and other items are on sale. Admission is free.
Imagine earning academic credits while you explore the Grand Canyon! Backpacking, hiking, river rafting, day classes, geology, archeology, cultural history, natural history, art or photography classes, or classes on Native American cultures, are all available through this non-profit organization. These educational vacations can be enjoyed by individuals, families or other groups. You will be extremely well prepared for your canyon adventure.
This National Historical Landmark rests at the end of the West Rim Drive. Here, visitors to the Canyon will find a snack bar, gift shop, restrooms and water. Named for the French Canadian prospector, Louis Boucher, who lived alone in the area for more than 20 years, the site holds the impressive limestone building designed by the renowned Grand Canyon architect, Mary Colter, in 1914. Bikers and hikers find their way to Hermit's Rest, as well as those who take the shuttles in the summertime or drive their own vehicles during the rest of the year. Call to know the open hours