100 Essex Rd.
Old Saybrook, CT 06475
Phone: (860) 395-1414
Fax: (860) 388-9578
Opened in September 2009, Katharine Hepburn Cultural Arts Center (also known as "The Kate") is the Shoreline's premier entertainment venue, hosting stand-up comedy, theatrical performances, live music and lectures throughout the year. The facility is housed in what used to be Old Saybrook's historic City Hall (built in 1910) and is named for the Academy Award-winning local actress, Katharine Hepburn, who resided in the town until her death in 2003. The theater features 250 seats (with unobstructed views) and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Tours of The Kate are available from June to September.
McCulloch Farm in Old Lyme has been breeding Morgan Horses since the 1940s. Morgan horses are available for sale with prices ranging from USD3500 to USD30,000. There are open house events held throughout the year, so check the website for times when the whole family can visit and enjoy the property.
The Ivoryton Playhouse in Ivoryton (so named for the town's past as a major producer of pianos and the need for ivory to make the keys) is a jewel of a local, regional theater. This small venue booms during the summer with plays and summer camps for the kids. The Ivoryton Playhouse is a great way to introduce children to theater.
Comstock-Cheney Hall is a small professional theater located at Ivoryton in the town of Essex, Connecticut. It is also called as The Ivoryton Playhouse. It produces shows from March to December and was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on April 15, 1982. The theater was built in 1910 and is believed to be the first self-supporting summer theater in the United States.
Designed in the Greek Revival style of architecture, the Smith-Harris House was a residential home. Currently standing as a museum, it is open to visitors and offers tours of the entire mansion including its surrounding gardens. Included in the U.S. National Register of Historic Places, it provides free access sans any admission prices.
Formerly, a town hall, the Chester Meeting House dates back to 1795. This historical landmark was neglected and abandoned, owing to the efforts of the Chester Historical Society, it was completely refurbished and renovated. The town hall was also included in the National Register for Historic Sites and though no longer a town hall, it continues to serve the community and hosts meetings, cultural events and similar activities on a regular basis.
Charlies Place Restaurant & Lounge is a family-favorite with a delicious collection of diner dishes and great New England seafood available at great prices. Enjoy Greek and Italian delights as well as hot lobster rolls and fish and chips. This diner is conveniently located off Interstate 95 and close to Rocky Neck State Park.
The Fox Hopyard Golf Club is open from March through November in the lovely Connecticut River-town of East Haddam. This is a Par 71 golf course that spans roughly 7000 yards (6400 meters) and includes facilities such as a restaurant, tee shop, sports bar and banquet hall. The club also houses the on-site restaurant, On the Rocks, where delicious breakfasts, lunches and dinners are served.
Located in the heart of the town, by the gentle murmur of the Indian River, the William Stanton Andrews Memorial Town Hall is the hub of bustling activity throughout the year. The red-brick building, with its impressive white columns at the entrance, has been a part of this town since 1936, when work on the beautiful building began. Named to honor the memory of a very generous resident, the hall boasts an auditorium, with 450 seats, fireplaces, a Clinton Historical Society Museum Room, as well as a kitchen that can serve about 2,000 guests. The elegant beauty of the building, combined with a fine functionality, makes it a popular venue in town for concerts. art shows, festivals, fairs and more. Call to know more.
"World renowned as the home of the American Musical," Goodspeed Musicals was formed in 1959 to restore the 19th century Goodspeed Opera House and reactivated it as a professional theatre in 1963. Goodspeed is home to the original productions of Man of La Mancha, Shenandoah and Annie and the recipient of two special Tony Awards for outstanding achievement in the musical theatre. Each April through December season, Goodspeed produces three musicals at the Opera House in East Haddam.
Built in 1876 by William Goodspeed, the Goodspeed Opera House is a gem of American musical theater. Overlooking the Connecticut River, this majestic building is now owned by Goodspeed Musicals and is home to award-winning shows and performances. It is the cradle of world famous musicals like Man of La Mancha and Annie. After its founder's death it became decrepit and was almost at the brink of destruction. Goodspeed Musicals was formed to save this historic structure in 1959. It was restored to its former glory and opened after four years of intensive restoration in 1963. This Victorian-style theater is a must visit when in the the Connecticut River Valley for an enchanting theater-going experience
Catch the hottest blockbusters at this digital theater.