880 Donald Lynch Blvd.
Marlborough, MA 01752
Phone: (508) 460-1000
Fax: (508) 460-9103
Captain Peter Rice House that was constructed in 1688 was included in the National Register of Historic Places in 1980. It was the home of the Peter Rice family, which was considered an important and prominent Marlborough family of that time .The Marlborough Historical Society now occupies the Captain Peter Rice House, the house is open to all visitors.
Maplewood Cemetery is located in Marlborough which is a prominent center of industry and technology in Massachusetts. This historic cemetery dates back to 1864 and was added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places.
Wachusett Dam is maintained and managed by the Massachusetts Water Resources Authority and serves the greater Boston area. This biggest gravity dam was incorporated in the U.S. National Register of Historic Places in 1990.
Tower Hill Botanic Garden was established in 1986 by the Worcester County Horticultural Society. Spread over 132 acres (53.4 hectares), this verdant landscape is replete with orchards, woodlands, gardens, trails, fountain and water features. Explore the gardens for over 100 ancient trees, native and exotic plant life, and scenic views of the Mount Wachusett and the Wachusett Reservoir.
A first of its kind, this state reform school for girls was constructed in 1790 in Lancaster, Massachusetts. It was referred to as the Lancaster Industrial School and went ahead to occupy a significant historic place in the years to come. A vital reason for this significance was the fact that it opened as a pioneering educational institute in the nation on August 26, 1856. It however closed down in 1973. This resulted positively in the pavement of regular industrial schools as means of societal reform. The school was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.
Nestled within the sprawling campus of Atlantic Union College, the Founder's Hall was built way back in 1883. It is a fine example of the Gothic-Queen Anne style of architectural design. In 1980, this historic structure featured in the National Register of Historic Places.
Bigelow Tavern Historic District is located at 60, 64 and 65 Worcester Street in West Boylston, Massachusetts. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1992. It was built in the 1770s by Deacon Amariah Bigelow. As time passed by, the original building was redone by the members of West Boylston Historical Society.
Located on Lake Quinsigamond at tow sites: Regatta Point and Lake Park. The parks offer swimming, sailing, picnicking, fishing and rowing crew regattas.
The Ethan Allen House and Gun Shop is a red brick Greek Revival structure. This house was the manufacturer of guns and introduced single shot pistols, and the pocket rifles and several other guns. The technology of these guns had varied from the time it had started to the time in began growing the market. This house is a great visit place as it offers the great view of the gun shop. This place was added as the National Historical Site in 1995.
The EcoTarium is an excellent place to learn about the ecosystem. The EcoTarium studies on nature and the flora and fauna kingdom. The museum has indoor and outdoor exhibits of natural history as well as animals in their natural habitats. They offer various educational programs, nature trails and other interesting activities that will help you get acquainted with nature. For further details, do visit their website.
The First Baptist Church on Worcester Road in Framingham, Massachusetts is a monumental church building. Its structure is a superb representation of the Late Gothic Revival style of architecture. Some of the activities include prayer services, worship, pre-school and Adult Sunday School. It is of immense historic value and was registered on the National Register of Historic Places on April 9, 1980.
Garden in the Woods is a botanical garden and home of the New England Wild Flower Society, located on Hemenway Road, in Framingham, Massachusetts. Visitors are welcome between April 15 and October 31 and can enjoy guided tours and free admission on weekdays at 10a and at 2p on weekends. Explore over 1700 plants and 1000 species of flora, one of largest in New England.