1691 Route 46 West
Ledgewood, NJ 07852
Phone: (973) 347-5100
Fax: (973) 347-6356
1691 Route 46 West, Ledgewood, NJ, US, 07852
- Phone: (973) 347-5100
- Fax: (973) 347-6356
The 107-mile (172-kilometer) long Morris Canal was built in 1825 and was used until the 1920s. Now a feature on the National Register of Historic Places, this preserved site reflects the heritage of this place. Unique in its architecture, it was a major waterway route designed to transport coal from the Lehigh Valley to the New York harbor.
Nathan Cooper Gristmill is a historic gristmill with massive water wheel power shafts and gears that is still in working condition. The mill was built in the 1760s and put into use till 1788 by a man called Isaiah Younglove. After that, the mill changed ownership a couple of times until Nathan Cooper bought the present mill in 1826. Visitors can see the master miller dressed in period costume as he explains the history of the mill and the community built around it. The mill is looked after and owned by the Morris County Parks Commission.
This park is a popular cultural and recreational facility where the Scandinavian Festival, as well as numerous special events, is held; the Viking Hall is available for events, and one may also take advantage of the on-site picnic grounds.
Indoor play center for kids.
Named for the first governor of New Jersey, this park consists of one thousand one hundred fifty four acres, with fitness stations, athletic fields, jogging and hiking trails, horseshoe pits, skiing, and opportunities for swimming, boating, camping, and much more.
This historic site preserves the estate of Stephen Vail, the owner of the Speedwell Ironworks, with exhibits that explore the early development of the telegraph, an exhibit having to do with the S. S. Savannah, guided tours of the Vail Mansion, and much more being offered.
The Morristow National Historic Park, encompasses three sites, and is on the National Register of Historic Places. The Ford Mansion was the winter quarters of George Washington, and adjacent to it is the museum open for tourists. The Fort Nonsense on the hilltop was the place of the signal fire, while the Jockey Hollow was the campsite of the Continental Army. Morristown was known as the military capital of the American Revolutionary War.
This extraordinary structure, the Morris County Courthouse, was built in 1827 and has since been the hub of the judicial system. It features Greek Revival and Federal style of architecture and consists of two stories, a higher floor, chimneys and a domed cupola. This courthouse is on the National Register of Historic Places.
This national park is the site of a winter encampment of the American Continental Army, and includes a museum in the headquarters that were used by General George Washington.
This garden features a wide array of herbs and other plants that visitors may peruse.
The Henry W. Merriam House was constructed in 1883, and has adapted the Late Victorian style of architecture. Included in the U.S. National Register of Historic Places, it was the abode of Henry Wilson Merriam, a prominent industrialist.
This Colonial home dates back the middle of the Eighteenth Century and was the home of Revolutionary War era physician, Doctor Jabez Campfield, and was later the residence of Doctor John Cochran, who was George Washington