Quality Inn & Suites
700 North Beachview Drive
Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone: (912) 635-2202
Fax: (912) 635-2927
A rehabilitation hospital for turtles, this center offers educational opportunities for children and adults. With audio tours, a hands-on museum, exhibit gallery, a large viewing area huge viewing area where rescued and sick turtles are treated, visitors will learn about their habitats and the conservation efforts of the center. Visitors are also allowed to go behind the scenes and get up close to the turtles. There is a gift shop with books, souvenirs and other turtle related items. The center also offers field trips and summer camps. Closed New Year's Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Discounted admission for military, students and teachers with ID. -Natasha Lawrence
Constructed with tabby by Major William Horton, a military aid to General James Oglethorpe, this historic home on the island is one of the oldest plantation structure in Georgia. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the site is open to visitors free of charge. Concerts, weddings and other events are held here. Self-guided tours include the ruins, markers and historic DuBignon family cemetery across the street. Preservation efforts have been extensive and are ongoing to preserve a way of life that existed long ago. -Natasha Lawrence
Constructed in 1904, the Faith Chapel is a monumental chapel built on Old Plantation Road in Jekyll Island, Georgia. The building somewhat resembles the early colonial meetinghouse and is coupled with enhancing elements that are inspired by the Gothic style of architecture. An eminent highlight of the chapel is the striking stained-glass window - a representation of the Christ child - that adorns at the end of the chapel. The chapel is a fine option for wedding functions, memorial services and renewal of vows. It can accommodate as many as 110 people and wedding reservations imply access to an hour-long rehearsal time, and exquisite bride and groom staging rooms.
Managed by Jekyll Island Museum, Indian Mound Cottage is the restored home of William Rockefeller, co-founder of Standard Oil Co. Inc. Constructed in 1892, the three-story house got its name from the mound located in the front yard, considered to have been used as a burial ground by the Guale Indians, but which turned out to be nothing more than ordinary shells. The restoration process included replacing the cedar shake roof, renovating the porch railings and the addition of antique-style carpets.
Driftwood Beach is so named because its sandy shore is filled with tree barks and logs brought in by the tide. The driftwood creates intriguing shapes, lending an aura of mystery and wonder to this lonely beach. The most surreal experience is watching the sun rise and spread its golden rays behind the half-dead branches and turn the beach into a landscape of deep pink, purple and orange hues. Strolling along the beach, discover shells, live crabs and dolphins, and sea life washed ashore. If you are lucky, you may even spot a deer or other wildlife. This place is not only great for photo ops but also the perfect venue if you are looking for an unusual spot for a wedding.
Located at the southern tip of St. Simons Island, this lighthouse has helped ships navigate safely, since its establishment, and continues to do so till date. St. Simons Island Light is an 104 feet (31.69 meters) tall structure constructed in the 19th Century that replaced the original one. Approximately a century later, the St. Simons Island Light was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1972.
After passing through the entrance gate toward Jekyll Island, the first stop for any visitor is the Jekyll Island Welcome Center. It offers brochures, pamphlets, maps and all things relating to Jekyll Island. Friendly attendants will gladly answer questions about what's happening on the island and offer assistance to newcomers. There is a playground for children to play on and a viewing platform where you can see the Port of Brunswick, Sidney Lanier Bridge and St. Simons Island. Restrooms are available as well as vending machines. -Natasha Lawrence
Spanning across the picturesque Brunswick river, the Sidney Lanier Bridge opened in 2003. The bridge is the longest one in Georgia and was named to commemmorate the famous poet Sidney Lanier.
With direct access to Jekyll Islands beaches, this 20-acre park offers bus and vehicle parking, picnic tables, restrooms, showers and shade pavilions. It also has a playground, decks, walkways, natural gardens and lighting that is safe for turtles. There is also a disabled accessible path on the soft sand beach. Adjacent to the park is the convention center that houses a variety of restaurants and shops. -Natasha Lawrence
Situated in the city of Brunswick, the Lover's Oak has been a magnificent tree providing shade to the weary travelers. This tree has a huge canopy with its massive trunk swathed in Spanish moss. Come here and be mesmerized with its beauty.
Marshes of Glynn Overlook Park is located in the city of Brunswick and offers an extensive view of the salt marshes lying in close proximity to it. Have a great time at the fishing pier or relax with your family at the picnic tables.
The Old City Hall in Brunswick can be dated back to 1886 and has a mixture of Italian and Roman architecture. The hall is available on hire for private events and weddings.