811 Dominion Drive
Hudson, WI 54016
Phone: (715) 386-6355
Fax: (715) 386-9778
811 Dominion Drive, Hudson, WI, US, 54016
- Phone: (715) 386-6355
- Fax: (715) 386-9778
Arts & Museums
A year round center for the performing and visual arts of Hudson.
The renowned Octagon House Museum is also referred to as the John S. Moffat House and was established in 1855. The exquisite house, located in Hudson, is an aesthetic structure with tremendous monumental value. Constructed by the then renowned architects Andrews Brothers, it is a stellar model of the Greek Revival and the Octagonal Mode styles of architecture. Operated as a history museum at present, the house was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974.
Stillwater began attracting artists more than a century ago, and today it remains a destination for art collectors and home to many accomplished artists. This gallery has the works of more than 50 of the region's finest on display. Enjoy their excellent and exciting work.
This museum features a twenty-eight-foot tall atrium, and exhibits historic relics, a variety of interesting and informative displays, and photographs that vividly dramatize what life in this area was like in days of yore, as well as selling gifts and souvenirs.
Established in 1976, the North Star Museum of Boy Scouting and Girl Scouting is a unique museum. Get to know the stories and the influence of scouts through photographs, media files, photographs, books and artifacts. It delves into the history of boy and girl scouting from Wisconsin, Iowa, North and South Dakota, and Minnesota.
This World War Two Museum features seven war-birds, artifacts, war vehicles and uniforms from the era of the Second World War, and all aircraft are in flying condition.
Located on the site of Minnesota's first railroad maintenance shop, this museum encourages visitors to learn about the railroad industry. Visitors learn about the history of the railroad and can watch the maintenance of passenger cars and locomotives, which operate in the Osceola and St. Croix Valley Railway in Wisconsin. The roundhouse was built in 1907 as part of the Jackson Street complex, founded shortly after the Civil War, to service and maintain steam locomotives. Several public grants and many volunteers have helped in the restoration of the Roundhouse. Parking is available on-site.
A collection of working locomotives, steamships, train depots, roundhouses, trolleys and motor coaches brings the history of local transportation alive. The MTM has five exhibit sites in and around the Twin Cities area that are visited by more than 100,000 people annually. The various restored depots and roundhouse allow visitors to travel back to the golden age of the railroads.The most popular exhibit is the Como-Harriet Streetcar Line, a rebuilt portion of what used to be the nation's largest urban rail service that was a 500-mile system in its heyday. Restored cars dating from the late 1800s and early 1900s run a two-mile round trip course between Lakes Harriet and Calhoun in South Minneapolis. Cars run every 15 minutes and passengers can board at the Linden Hills Station or the Lakewood Cemetery platform. The museum's other big draw is the Minnehaha, a 1906 steamboat which used to ferry streetcar passengers all over Lake Minnetonka. Back from a watery grave, the restored steamboat is as good as new and spruced up with a snazzy maroon and gold paint job.
This intimate museum presents changing and unique exhibitions that express the American multicultural experience.
Designed for children four months to 10 years old, this museum features four permanent galleries and two others hosting traveling exhibits. Visitors are encouraged to use all of their senses to explore the many things there are to see and do. They can be in the spotlight on the sound stage, crawl through the maze of tunnels in the giant ant hill, create a thunderstorm, operate a huge crane and much more. Activities and performances by singers, dancers, jugglers and storytellers take place daily. This is truly a place where 'learn to play, play to learn' is more than just a phrase. There is free entry on every 3rd Sunday of the month.
The Schubert Club, established in 1882, has for over 100 years served as the bastion of classical recital music in the Twin Cities. Musical instruments dating back 425 years, such as items in its keyboard collection, are elegantly displayed in posh style. The museum's exhibits include musical manuscripts and instruments from around the world (such as Song of India). A docent is on hand to guide your tour. Admission is free. Groups exceeding five people are encouraged to call in advance.
Opened in 1902 as a federal court building, this lavish Victorian architectural masterpiece sits facing St. Paul's Rice Park. Constructed of pink granite and red tile roofs, it boasts multiple turrets and gables along with other fanciful details. The richness continues inside with a five-story courtyard lit by a massive skylight and extravagantly appointed rooms with 20-foot ceilings, marble fireplaces and carved mahogany. Besides office space for numerous arts organizations, the Landmark Center is home to the prestigious Minnesota Museum of American Art, the Ramsey County Historical Society and the Schubert Club. The St. Paul Cafe, an excellent spot for lunch, is located on the first floor. Free tours take place at 11a on Thursday and 1p on Sunday. For something a little more unusual, take the Gangster Tours offered on the last Sunday of each month at 1p. Reservations are required for these special tours.