Quality Inn Conference Center at Citrus Hills
350 E. Norvell Bryant Highway
Hernando, FL 34442
Phone: (352) 527-0015
Fax: (352) 527-2360
Arts & Museums
The Old Citrus County Courthouse is a historic landmark, built in 1912, and displaying a splendid blend of architectural styles. Now a museum, its collection highlights local history and culture. The cupola made up of copper, and the clock are highlights in the design of this heritage museum. The top floor also filmed scenes of the movie Follow That Dream.
Crystal River Archaeological State Park is located on Crystal River and within the Crystal River Preserve State Park. The park contains a six-mound area from the Deptford to the Late Fort Walton period. The park also has a limestone slab which is surprising as this kind of slabs are found in area like the Caribbean, South America, and Central America. The site was added to the National Register of Historic Places on September 29, 1970.
Located northwest of Orlando in the city of Ocala just off of I-75, Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing is both a drag-racing and classic car museum well worth the drive. Step inside the massive building packed full of nearly every vehicle driven by Don Garlit (including the Top Fuel Swamp Rats), several of his trophies, authentic race banners from various races, endless pictures, car parts, car memorabilia and artifacts, and several other classic hot rods, too. Visitors can learn all about the history of this racer known as "Big Daddy" or "King of the Dragsters", and there is also a gift shop on site. - Diane Dilov-Schultheis
The May-Stringer House dating back to 1843, is a building designed in the Queen Anne style. The house is the site of the Hernando Heritage Museum. This museum showcases artifacts pertaining to the cultural heritage of the Hernando County as well as objects of the past owners.
Home of the Brooksville Raid, the largest Florida civil war reenactment which takes place in January, this beautiful museum is located in a four story, 12 story Antebellum home which was built in 1856 and the house is decorated in a Victorian era and Civil War theme. Over 10,000 artifacts are on display and guided tours are available Tuesdays through Fridays.