719 Bypass 25 NE
Greenwood, SC 29646
Phone: (864) 229-5329
Fax: (864) 229-4484
719 Bypass 25 NE, Greenwood, SC, US, 29646
- Phone: (864) 229-5329
- Fax: (864) 229-4484
The Old Greenwood Cemetery is a historic burial ground and one of the oldest in the area. It is the final resting place of several notable people. It features 350 graves with splendid sculptures and memorial stones. It is featured on the National Register of Historic Places.
A very special goat farm that is situated on 75 beautiful acres and offers visitors a chance to step back into the basic elements of life with hands-on experience. Learn about real farm animals or visit the Soap Factory and Gift Shop where their famous Goat Milk Soap is made. A natural food store is also on site, as well as a Trains and Hobby Shop.
The first land battle of the Revolutionary War was fought at this historic site that covers over 980 acres and features a mile long trail where you can explore the sites of the frontier settlement including a French and Indian War fort, a trading post, and extensive Revolutionary War fortifications.
Named after Thomas Coke and Francis Asbury, two Methodist bishops, this community is centered by a former college campus and features the largest group of Antebellum buildings in Greenwood County, many of them beautifully restored and renovated.
Basic services such as gas and docking slips are available at this full service marina that also features a convenience store and repair services.
Regarded as a National Historic Landmark, the Ninety Six National Historic Site gets its name from the distance between this location and Keowee. But that is just one hypothesis. Having been the site of the first land battle in 1775, the site today, contains a museum that include war time artifacts, oil paintings and a video on the battle, that is available at the store. Tour guides are stationed around the park to help visitors know more about the place and its heritage.
Situated on the western shore of scenic Lake Greenwood, this beautiful 915 acre State Park features 200 miles of shoreline, over 11,400 acres of sparkling water, family and primitive campsites, a trading post and tackle shop, nature trails, playground areas, a recreation building, three public boat ramps, and picnic areas.
Established in 1936, this public library is dedicated to providing for the educational, informational, and recreational reading needs of the public and carries a large array of books, books-on-tape, reference materials, and children's books.
Abbeville Historic District dates back to the 19th Century. This neighborhood is a melting pot of several architectural styles including the likes of Gothic Revival, Queen Anne and Victorian styles. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1972 and a visit here is definitely interesting. Some of the district landmarks include the courthouse and opera hall.
Established in 1860, Trinity Episcopal Church and Cemetery was founded by Thomas Parker. Once a small clapboard building that was used as a place of worship, this structure underwent a huge reconstruction under the guidance of George Walker. He used solid brick to built the building and covered the exterior that looked like cement. It also has a touch of Victorian style of architecture and has a huge gold cross placed on the spire. The church has a beautiful cemetery nearby built for the veterans of Confederate service.
This Greek-Revival mansion was the site of the first reading of the secession papers that gave birth to the Confederacy and was also the site of the final meeting of the Confederate War Council with President Jefferson Davis on May 2, 1865, that ended the Confederacy. Two pieces of furniture in this mansion have particular historical value, Armistead Burk's desk in the upstairs living room and a bed Jefferson Davis slept in that is located in the front upstairs bedroom.
A historic and spiritual landmark, this Gothic Revival pink church epitomizes the era in which is was built and includes a cemetery with graves dating from the 1850's. Particular features of the church include a Tracker Organ and a chancel window from England.