Quality Hotel Bavaria
Nuernberger Strasse 54
Phone: (49) 911 774941
Fax: (49) 911 748015
Nuernberger Strasse 54, Fuerth, DE, 90762
- Phone: (49) 911 774941
- Fax: (49) 911 748015
Justizgebäude is located to the west of the center of the town and its presence on Fürther Straße serves as a reminder of the post-World War II trials that took place inside this courthouse. These trials were mostly held in the room number 600 which now comprises a small exhibit and is open to visitors. The building was built between 1909 and 1916 and is currently used as a criminal courthouse for the city council.
As this historic cemetery is not open to the public, you can only catch a glimpse it by peeking through the gaps in the wall that surrounds it. During the Second World war, numerous gravestones were destroyed during the bombing raids. The grounds first became a resting place for Jews in 1964, which was shortly after Jews were re-admitted into the City of Nuremberg. As there was soon a lack of space, a second cemetery was built in the Schieglingerstrasse.
St. John's Cemetery (Johannisfriedhof), situated to the West of the Neutor, is the last resting place of many important citizens. Amongst the greats buried here are Albrecht Dürer (painter), Veit Stoß (craftsman) and Willibald Pirckheimer (humanist).The sacrophagos-like tombstones are decorated by bronze tablets and have interesting epitaphs engraved on them. They depict coats of arms and hint at the professions of the dead. In the winter of 1993/94 antique-theives stole many of the bronze plates.Although there has been a cemetery here since the 13th century, it was not until after 1518 that people from the parish of St. Seebald were buried here, outside the city walls.The Church that stands in the cemetery is extremely picturesque. Built in the 14th century, it was the only of Nuremberg's historic churches to escape the many bombing raids. The interior is splendid and the 16th century main alter is flanked with paintings by one of Albrecht Dürer's pupils.
This historic cemetery in the Gostenhof district and its small church date from 1518. In many ways, it is similar to the Johannis Cemetery, which was the principal resting place for the citizens of the Seebalder Old Town. Not all that many famous personalities are buried here as it was for the most part craftsmen and the lower middle class that lived in the Lorenzer Old Town. The plain exterior of the Rochus Chapel gives no clue of the precious treasures that are stored inside. However, it is not possible to visit the treasures. The construction was erected privately by the family Von Imhoff and is still owned by them today.
This is Germany's oldest hanging bridge. The bridge in place today is still the original but receives extra support from wooden pillars and steel supports. When it was first built in 1824, the Kettensteg was celebrated as a wonder of modern technology and Nuremberg's Johann Georg Kuppler enjoyed a brief spot of fame.
You'd be forgiven for thinking that you had stepped into a the past when you walk down the "Weißgerbergasse" (Leather craftsmen's lane). This charming little cobbled lane is home to a row of 22 former artisans' houses, which are made of stone and decorated by timber beams. Be sure to have a more detailed look at the individual houses, for their exterior hides a host of treasures which are lost in the overall picture. Nr. 25, for example, has a picturesque protruding bay window.Today, the Weißgerbergasse houses a number of restaurants, bars and independent shops.
Step into the "Tiergärtnerplatz" (Zoo-Gate-Square) and you will soon be fascinated by the architectural masterpieces that surround it. To one side there is the Albrecht-Dürer-Haus and towering above it is the Castle. In the summer, the square is brought to life by tourists and locals alike. People love to meet here before going out and many come to see what the street vendors and muscians that flock here have to offer.The most controversial part of the square is the modern bronze sculpture of a large hare by Jürgen Göertz. It was inspired by the famous sketch by Dürer but its real meaning remains obscure.
St. Elisabeth, which is built in the classical style, stands opposite the Weißer Turm. From 1281, it was the Order of German Knight's official place of worship, but the building we see today was not erected until 1780. After interruptions to the building work, which were thanks to increased intolerance towards Catholics, the site was given back to the Catholic church. From 1885 onwards, it was built according to the original plans. The church, which has an enormous cuppola, topped by the Order's cross, is an interesting piece of architecture: its center is supported by marble columns and the high altar, is also made of marble. The twelve apostles stand underneath the cuppola.
Emperor Otto IV gave the Jakobskirche, or Church of St. Jakob to the Order of Teutonian Knights in 1209 but the Gothic building we see today dates from the earlier half of the 14th century. This is why the sandstone figures that can be seen in the main body of the church are older than the Church itself. The interior also houses beautiful stained glass windows and a Gothic high altar. Two gravestones decorated with the Knights' insignia are a reminder of the Church's origins. The City Council was initially unsuccessful in forcing the ideals of the Reformation through in this parish.
The Weinstadl, which orginally provided shelter for lepers, is one of Nuremberg's most beautiful half-timbered houses. It was built between 1446 and 1448 and after lepers were banished from the city once and for all, it became a wine storage house and a place where poor families could stay.Since the 1950s, the building has served as a hall of residence for students from the Erlangen-Nuremberg University. It stretches from the Maxplatz right to the Pegnitz and is adjacent to the Henkersteg (Hangman' s bridge), a roofed wooden walkway. This is no doubt one of the most romantic and picturesque parts of the Pegnitz that Nuremberg has to offer visitors and locals alike.
Located opposite Tiergärtnertor just to the south of Kaiserburg, this lovely, half-timbered medieval house was home to the great German painter Albrecht Dürer from 1509 until his death in 1528. Now home to an exhibition dedicated to the life and times of Dürer, the museum provides a fascinating insight into life in the Middle Ages. Visitors can take a guided tour of the house, watch a multimedia show and take part in art workshops.
This unusual fountain, titled the marriage carousel, was crafted by Professor Jürgen Weber in 1984. Although it is now an integral part of the Old City, it once aroused a great deal of controversy. The fountain's confident bronze statues are meant to be visual representations of the Hans-Sachs poem Bittersweet Married Life, which highlights the negative and positive potential of a union between the sexes.There are six carriages, each carrying a couple, each making a different point. The swan with the lovers depicts the passion between a man and a woman, whereas the fat woman greedily eating shows a lack of appreciation of what her partner has sacrificed for her.The poet himself is placed at the center of the fountain, frolicking on what looks like a bundle of corn. Those interested in the poem itself should look for the heart-shaped slab of stone at the side of the fountain.