Johannisfriedhof und Johanniskirche
+49 911 2 3360
St. John's Cemetery (Johannisfriedhof), situated to the West of the Neutor, is the last resting place of many important citizens. Amongst the greats buried here are Albrecht Dürer (painter), Veit Stoß (craftsman) and Willibald Pirckheimer (humanist).The sacrophagos-like tombstones are decorated by bronze tablets and have interesting epitaphs engraved on them. They depict coats of arms and hint at the professions of the dead. In the winter of 1993/94 antique-theives stole many of the bronze plates.Although there has been a cemetery here since the 13th century, it was not until after 1518 that people from the parish of St. Seebald were buried here, outside the city walls.The Church that stands in the cemetery is extremely picturesque. Built in the 14th century, it was the only of Nuremberg's historic churches to escape the many bombing raids. The interior is splendid and the 16th century main alter is flanked with paintings by one of Albrecht Dürer's pupils.