Quality Hotel Erlangen
Bayreuther Strasse 53
Phone: (49) 9131 8760
Fax: (49) 9131 876550
Bayreuther Strasse 53, Erlangen, DE, 91054
- Phone: (49) 9131 8760
- Fax: (49) 9131 876550
Erlangen was mentioned as far back as the year 1002, and today boasts a thriving university as well as interesting cultural offerings. With a little over 100,000 inhabitants, Erlangen is no longer the small village of yore. It hosts Bergkirchweih, which is an annual beer festival somewhat similar to Munich s Oktoberfest. There is also a botanical garden which draws visitors interested in botany from afar. Overall, Erlangen is a mostly quiet and beautiful small city that has long standing roots and historical attractions.
Hugenottenkirche is an Evangelical church whose construction dates back to the 17th Century. The church's facade has a beautiful Baroque design, while its tower comes across as an equally imposing structure. The interior decor of the church is quite simplistic which adds to the tranquil ambiance of the place. Prayers, sermons, mass and community events are the regular proceedings at the church. The Hugenottenkirche also hosts the Christmas markets and related events to support the needful through the revenue generated. Check website for details.
The Little Neunhofer Castle was built in the 15th century and is today looked after by the Germanic National Museum (Germanisches Nationalmuseum). It was once the home of the Patrician family and the castle and grounds are today ranked as one of the foremost examples of Patrician Houses in Nuremberg and the surrounding area. The two towers which are the castle's main features date from 1503 and the interior hints at the rich and opulent life once enjoyed by the Patricians living in the countryside. The splendid kitchen and small church are also worth investigating.The fabulous grounds include baroque gardens, which date from a later period. The Neunhofer is best reached by car.
What used to be the site of the old airport is today a popular park. Families, couples, teenagers and senior citizens alike make use of this park. Horse-ridings, biking, jogging and barbequeing are some of the infinite activities that people come here for. There is also a man-made lake. In the summer, the park is a favorite with people from all walks of life and on Sundays, the smell of sausages and other barbeque favorites fills the air as families catch up with each other.
This synagogue was officially opened in 1984 and it is home to the valuable 'Nürnberger Judenstein', a piece of stone that was saved from the city's first synagogue. Nuremberg has always had a Jewish community but its history has been a troubled one. In the Middle Ages, Jews were persecuted and soon after Hitler came to power, more than 5000 Jews left the city because of the manner in which the political climate changed. The synagogue in the Johannn-Priem-Straße serves as the spiritual home of today's Jewish community
St. John's Cemetery (Johannisfriedhof), situated to the West of the Neutor, is the last resting place of many important citizens. Amongst the greats buried here are Albrecht Dürer (painter), Veit Stoß (craftsman) and Willibald Pirckheimer (humanist).The sacrophagos-like tombstones are decorated by bronze tablets and have interesting epitaphs engraved on them. They depict coats of arms and hint at the professions of the dead. In the winter of 1993/94 antique-theives stole many of the bronze plates.Although there has been a cemetery here since the 13th century, it was not until after 1518 that people from the parish of St. Seebald were buried here, outside the city walls.The Church that stands in the cemetery is extremely picturesque. Built in the 14th century, it was the only of Nuremberg's historic churches to escape the many bombing raids. The interior is splendid and the 16th century main alter is flanked with paintings by one of Albrecht Dürer's pupils.
Even though Nuremberg city park is not that big, it is a favorite place with the locals. Its centerpiece is the Neptune Fountain. What we see today is not the original - this was sold to St. Petersburg in the 18th century. Originally the fountain stood in the Main Market (Hauptmarkt), but the Nazis removed it because it was sponsored by a Jew.The southern part of the park is landscaped and is nice for romantic walks. There is also a restaurant on the grounds which is where the Kleine Komödie theater group performs in the evenings. For a smaller snack or a drink you can go to one kiosks that sell ice-cream and the like.
Justizgebäude is located to the west of the center of the town and its presence on Fürther Straße serves as a reminder of the post-World War II trials that took place inside this courthouse. These trials were mostly held in the room number 600 which now comprises a small exhibit and is open to visitors. The building was built between 1909 and 1916 and is currently used as a criminal courthouse for the city council.
When visiting this church you may feel as if you've come upon a lost German castle. The steep, teal steeples hover over the nearby trees and the bricks give it an old-world quality. It was actually built during the 1930's by the architect, Gottfried Dauner.
Step into the "Tiergärtnerplatz" (Zoo-Gate-Square) and you will soon be fascinated by the architectural masterpieces that surround it. To one side there is the Albrecht-Dürer-Haus and towering above it is the Castle. In the summer, the square is brought to life by tourists and locals alike. People love to meet here before going out and many come to see what the street vendors and muscians that flock here have to offer.The most controversial part of the square is the modern bronze sculpture of a large hare by Jürgen Göertz. It was inspired by the famous sketch by Dürer but its real meaning remains obscure.
Located opposite Tiergärtnertor just to the south of Kaiserburg, this lovely, half-timbered medieval house was home to the great German painter Albrecht Dürer from 1509 until his death in 1528. Now home to an exhibition dedicated to the life and times of Dürer, the museum provides a fascinating insight into life in the Middle Ages. Visitors can take a guided tour of the house, watch a multimedia show and take part in art workshops.
Set on top of the weather-beaten sandstone cliffs, the spectacular Kaiserburg Castle towers over the city. A magnet for tourists and the pride of locals, Kaiserburg is one of the largest medieval castles in the country. Severely damaged during the Second World War, the castle has now been thoroughly restored and visitors can view the Knight's Hall, the Emperor's Hall, the Emperor's Chapel and the fountain in the courtyard. The tower offers magnificent views of the city. Check website for varied timings.