Quality Inn & Conference Center
3080 S. SR 157
Edwardsville, IL 62025
Phone: (618) 656-4900
Fax: (618) 656-0998
The Gardens are nestled in the sprawling campus of Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. This botanical garden that provides for extensive research also allows general public to enjoy its scenic beauty. Check website for details.
The Collinsville Masonic Temple Lodge No. 712 A.F. & A.M. was erected in 1912. In 2005, it was included in the National Register of Historic Places.
The Columbia Bottom Conservation Area is located at the convergence of the Missouri and Mississippi Rivers. Its myriad habitats support a multitude of wildlife. The area is open daily from dawn to dusk.
One of the most stunning features of the 47-mile (75-kilometer) Chain of Rocks Canal is the 22-degree (0.38 radian) turn in the middle. The purpose behind this unique piece of engineering was to keep the river level high enough so as to provide adequate navigation levels across the canal. Another feature to note in the canal is the rocky area in the Mississippi that was the inspiration behind its name. Two Gothic structures facilitate water intake for the Water Treatment Facility. It is no doubt a great sight and features on the National Register of Historic Places.
One of the most fascinating river attractions in Illinois. See barges elevate on water as they make passage on the mighty Mississippi River. A great family attraction.
The Alton National Cemetery was originally built for military purposes and was first used in 1870. It is also the final resting place for a number of Civil War Union soldiers. This site, a feature on the National Register of Historic Places, organizes an annual commemorative event that is a big crowd drawer.
The tallest man in history. Stand next to this life-sized statue nearly 9' tall.
A beautiful home featuring wonderful period furnishings and other fine antiques.
Floating docks in a weather-safe harbor offering covered slips, pool and whirlpool, fuel and pump out, full mechanical service, on-site deli, and boat store.
Bissell Street Water Tower is also known as New Red Tower, and was constructed in 1886. It was built by Deputy Building Commissioner William S. Eames, and was in service until 1912. The water tower was constructed using red brick, light gray stone and terra cotta. The interior also had a spiral staircase which led to the balcony at the top. The tower was added to the National Register of Historic Places on June 5, 1970.
The Wainwright Tomb is a historic mausoleum which comprises the mortal remains of Charlotte Dickson Wainwright, her husband and her in-laws. The tomb was designed by famous architect Louis Sullivan in the Chicago school style of architecture. This beautiful tomb was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1970.
This Queen Anne-style playhouse was built for Lucy J. Haskell, daughter of Dr. William A. & Florence H. Haskell. Lucy died at age nine of diptheria and the Haskells gave the estate to the City of Alton for educational & recreational purposes.