6611 Old Collamer Rd South
East Syracuse, NY 13057
Phone: (315) 432-9333
Fax: (315) 432-9197
6611 Old Collamer Rd South, East Syracuse, NY, US, 13057
- Phone: (315) 432-9333
- Fax: (315) 432-9197
Arts & Museums
The International Mask and Puppet Museum is comprised of collections from Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, Oceania and South America.
The Erie Canal Museum is dedicated to the Erie Canal; a major transportation hub during the Civil War. Post war the canal usage depleted as the road and rail network expanded. This was followed by severe destruction of the Greek Revival style Weighlock Building, which housed the canal boat weighlocks. After major protests by the locals, this historic building was restored and a museum showcasing the history of the canal was founded here. Today several tourists come here to explore the United States history and the canal's instrumental role in it. The museum hosts various exhibitions and events associated with the same subject. Check website for details on upcoming events.
Enjoy local history exhibits, 18th century maps, paintings, furniture, architectural drawings, photographs, decorative arts, tools, military items and costumes.
Founded in 1897, the Everson Museum of Art was established with the mission of promoting American art forms with no particular restriction or parameter. The structure of the museum itself represents creativity and architectural excellence. It comprises of a vast collection of paintings, drawings, and other art forms that add up to almost 11,000 objects. Apart from the permanent collection, it also hosts temporary exhibitions that give the visitors an idea about innovation in the world of contemporary art. For more details, check website.
Milton J. Rubenstein Museum of Science and Technology is a popular tourist destination in Syracuse. Locally known as MOST, it makes for a perfect family outing that combines education with fun. The museum complex houses IMAX theater, exhibition halls and much more. Interactive displays, playhouses, variety of exhibits and collections give the kids a hands-on experience and encourages them to learn more about science and technology. At the theater, you will surely enjoy the movies that are screened on the 70mm screen, complete with a hi-tech sound system in place. MOST can also be hired for private events and functions; private screenings at the IMAX theater can also be arranged. For more details, check their website.
Previously used as an educational institute, the Stone Arabia School now home to a museum which displays the local history, art and culture of the town. Operated and managed by Cicero Historical Society, the museum is a classic example of the one-room schoolhouses that were prevalent during the 19th century. Constructed in Greek Revival style of architecture, the museum began to operate in 1978. A visit to this beautiful museum will acquaint you with the area's history.
Located on the East Seneca Turnpike, the Jamesville Community Museum began as Saint Mark's Church which was built in 1878. The Gothic church building was made home to the community museum in 1980 and added to the US National Register of Historic Places in 1997. The Jamesville Community Museum is situated centrally and plays host to various cultural and educational programs throughout the year.
The Tefft-Steadman House is located at Marcellus, New York. It was built in the year 1835 C.E and was designed by architect Minard Lafever. It has a Greek Revival-style of architecture and is now operated by Marcellus Historical Society as a local history museum. The house was added to the National Registrar of Historic Places on October 31, 2007.
Constructed in 1814, Rippleton Schoolhouse was in operation until 1931. It was moved from its original location in Rippleton to Cazenovia in 1997, where it forms a part of the Lorenzo State Historic Site. The schoolhouse has been restored to give it an authentic 19th-century feel, and is open for educational programs and school tours.
The Canal Town Museum was previously a bakery in the state of New York that was later converted into a museum. The building was constructed in the year 1873. and was used as a commercial and residential space. It showcases exhibitions on local history and culture of Old Erie Canal. This unique structure is also on the National Register of Historic Places.