Quality Inn Mic Mac
313 Prince Albert Road
Dartmouth, NS B2Y 1N3
Phone: (902) 469-5850
Fax: (902) 469-5859
313 Prince Albert Road, Dartmouth, NS, CA, B2Y 1N3
- Phone: (902) 469-5850
- Fax: (902) 469-5859
Dartmouth's Common is verdant park with trees and trails and the usual park niceties. Various cultural events also take place here throughout the year. It is under the management of the Halifax Regional Municipality which takes care of it. Baseball players often use the space for practice sessions and matches. It is a good place to relax after work or to have a picnic with family and friends during summer.
Take the ferry across to Dartmouth for a day and check out the other side of the harbor. Alderney Landing is the site of the World Peace Pavilion, a theater, art gallery, events facility, ferry terminal and outdoor concerts. On Saturday mornings there is a Farmers Market and on Sundays you will find craftspeople selling their wares. The market open hours vary. Check the web site for details.
Barrington Street is the perfect place for a browser. Head to Barrington Place Shops for a beautiful location and thirty shops. However, if there is nice weather go for a stroll down the street. You won't be disappointed, since you'll encounter unique stores such as Hilltribe Designs and John W. Doull Bookseller. Barrington Street starts at MacKay Bridge and ends at Inglis Street.
The 'Last Corvette' is a memorial to all who served in the Canadian navy. During World War II she spent her time escorting convoys to Ireland and met with quite a few adventures. Visitors are welcome aboard each summer to explore the fully restored ship, which is docked just behind the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic. There's a gift shop where you can pick up a copy of the HMCS Sackville's history and multi-media presentations at the Interpretation Center. Ask about family and group rates.
St. George's Round Church forms a popular attraction in the city of Halifax. Its known not only for its unique architecture but series of cultural and music events. For more information, do check out their website.
Scotia Square is a commercial and entertainment hub, nestled in the heart of Halifax. Established in the mid-1970s, Scotia Square was a popular shopping destination, featuring department stores, retail outlets, a theater and dining options. Over the years, the complex expanded, and now it includes a shopping mall, hotels and commercial offices.
Located on Argyle Street is the municipal government seat, the City Hall of Halifax. Built on the site where the former Dalhousie University used to be, the structure was built between 1888 and 1890. Designed by Edward Elliot, inspired by eclectic styles and traditions of architecture, it is one of the oldest buildings not only in the city but the entire province of Nova Scotia.
Saint Paul's Church was founded in the 17th Century and still holds services on Wednesdays and Sundays. Architectural plans for the church follow those of Saint Peter's in London, and the original timbers from Boston are still intact. Visitors are welcome to view the church Monday through Friday all year round. Tours can be arranged during the summer, except on Sundays, but call the church for more details.
Located in central Halifax, the Halifax Armoury is a historic landmark and National Historic Site of Canada. It was built in 1895 in a Romanesque Revival architectural style, and served during several wars over the centuries. It continues to serve military purposes for several reserve units and artillery regiments of the Canadian Forces.
Situated in the middle of Halifax Harbor, Georges Island (Nova Scotia) has been witness to military history in the past. This is a glacial land form that supposedly has hidden tunnels that are spoken of in folklore and tales. Fort Charlotte is a fort on the island that is presently being restored before the park opens to public. A visitor would need the permission of the Canadian government if they wish to visit the Georges Island (Nova Scotia). The island is a National Historic Site of Canada.
This was the first cemetery to be opened in 1749 and for many decades was a non-denominational burial site for the citizens of Halifax. In 1793, it was handed over to St. Paul's Anglican Church and for nearly a century of service, it closed down in 1844 when the Camp Hill Cemetery replaced the Old Burying Ground. This national historic site was in neglect till the 1980s when the Old Burying Ground Foundation restored it. With around 1,300 tombstones and 12,000 graves, it has some famous dead resting in its grounds. The most notable structure of the cemetery, the Welsford-Parker Monument stands at its entrance. This is the only war memorial commemorating the Crimean War in the continent and the second oldest of its kind in the nation.
St. Matthew's Church, originally known as Mother's Church, was known as the Protestant Dissenting Church until 1814. During this time, it was also called the Presbyterian Church. After 1820, the church came to be known as St. Matthew's Presbyterian Church until 1925, when it got the membership of the United Church of Canada. It is since this time that the church is known as St. Matthew's United Church. Here, worshipers still offer their prayers. The large and wonderful award-winning choir and the organ, recently refurbished, is the finest in the city. For more details, check their website.