Quality Hotel Coventry
Coventry, EN CV5 9BA
Phone: (44) 24 76403835
Fax: (44) 24 76403081
Dormer cottage is a Grade II listed heritage building located in Allesley, Coventry. Dating back to the the mid seventeenth century, it features timber framed architecture along with a pebble dash exterior, typically found in the buildings of that era. Further refurbishments were added to the structure in the 20th century. Currently the house is privately owned and closed to the public for viewing.
Allesley park, located in Coventry, is a popular recreation area among tourists and adults alike. Dating back to 13th century, it was formerly used as a deer park and a farm, and was eventually turned into a public park by the Coventry City council in the 1960s. There is a 18 hole golf course, a 9 hole crazy golf pitch and a children's play area which makes it popular among families. A historical walled garden maintained by a volunteer group offers historical guided tours and various summer activities for visitors. A mansion named The Allesley hall built in the 17th century is located in the midst of the park and currently serves as a residential house and a retirement home. The large open green space and even laid out paths make the path an ideal spot for joggers and dog walkers. There free car parking available along with public toilets and a park pavilion serving light snacks and drinks. The park is fairly wheelchair accessible with reserved parking spots for disabled persons.
The origins of All Saints Church, Allesley, can be traced back to the 13th Century, however it is believed that a church has existed at the site since Norman times. Although the church has undergone a number of changes over the years, it has been designated a Grade I listed building and is deemed to be of immense historic and architectural importance. As you explore the church you will come across a number of monuments and memorials, taking you on a journey through the history of the church's congregation. Active even today, the church continues to serve the community and has embraced a blend of different styles of worship.
Nestling between Hawthorn Lane and Banner Lane, Tile Hill Wood is a natural enclosure. Located in Coventry’s Tile Hill region, the woodland is a designate Site of Special Scientific Interest. Also serving as a Local Nature Reserve, the region consists of a range of trees including deciduous and coniferous varieties. Tile Hill Wood spans around a region of 69.92 acres (28.30 hectares) and boasts of trees like oak, sycamore, hazel coppice, spruce, chestnut, birch, ash, et al. One of its kinds, the woodland has special paths constructed for disabled visitors.
Evolved as a common wasteland, the Hearsall Common was designated as a public recreation space in 1927. This massive stretch of green is used by the locals as a playground, a cycle track, a Local Nature Reserve and an open air event venue.
Built in 1931 on he designs of the noted architect Henry Paley, St Barbara's Church, Earlsdon, is one of England's only three Anglican churches to be dedicated to St. Barbara. Although the church is replete with nuanced details and beautiful ornamentations, it was in actuality left incomplete due to a lack of funds. Despite this, the church is undeniably beautiful and has a comforting charm. This active parish church forms a part of the Diocese of Coventry, and holds regular religious services while extending its support to a number of groups aimed to encourage the welfare of the community.
Originally built to allow pedestrians to cross the Oxford Canal around 1835, the Vignoles Bridge has now been moved to its current location stretching across River Sherbourne. This single-span, cast iron bridge was designed by Charles Vignoles, and is considered to be an excellent example of the innovation that went in to the development of cast iron as a building material for bridges. Designated a scheduled ancient monument by English Heritage, the bridge makes a rather picturesque sight and provides an excellent photo opportunity.
The historic Spon street was once a part of a route between Gosford and Birmingham which continued to be used until the 1960s when the new Inner Ring Road was completed. Historically the street has been a hub of Coventry's famous dyers and textile industries, and was later taken over by a number of watchmakers. After the Second World War ravaged the city, a number of medieval timber houses were moved from all over Conventry to join Spon Street's own surviving buildings in an effort to protect the city's architectural heritage. Today these medieval buildings have come to house a number of shops, restaurants and pubs. The street is a popular destination for tourists who are drawn to the quaint timber houses and the historic feel they lend to the entire street.
This medieval heritage has documentary evidences dating back to 1344. St. John the Baptist Church is housed in one of the ancient structures of the city that serve historic significance.
The Coventry Cross as seen today is an admirable replica of the original Coventry Cross that stood around 100 meters (3.29 feet) away. The new replica was built around the 1960's to commemorate the memory of the important landmark, which is said to have been built in the 13th century. The building of the new cross was funded by the mayor of London, after he left a sum for the same in his will. The Cross stands as a major landmark today between the Cuckoo Lane and the Holy Trinity Church. The Cross is not only the cathedral city's pride but also one of its chief historic and spiritual landmarks.
Lady Herbert's Gardens located in Coventry were built by Albert Herbert, cousin of Alfred Herbert in memorium of the latter's wife. It is currently managed by the Coventry city council. There are two historical buildings in the garden known as Lady Herbert's homes which are managed by a charitable trust. The remains of the medieval Coventry wall are also found in parts in the garden. It is a quiet spot of peace and calm in the city with beautiful flowers and shrubs. There are park benches and picnic spots which make it a perfect getaway for a family day out.
Standing tall and proud as a symbol of strength and perseverance, the Holy Trinity Church, Coventry, has a history that stretches all the way back to the 12th Century. However, all that remains of the original church building is the North porch. The existing structure was largely built in the 13th Century, and is home to a number of beautiful artifacts and architectural details. Although the church walls were once covered with paintings intended to help illiterate parishioners to understand the Bible, the only remnant of these medieval paintings is a fine depiction of the Last Judgement which can be found above the tower arch. Although an undeniably beautiful church, what makes it truly amazing is the story behind its survival of the devastating raid which took place on November 14, 1940. Still active today, the Holy Trinity Church of Coventry continues to guide its congregation and serves as an inspiration to the city as a whole.