Quality Inn & Suites
3361 Coach Lane
Cameron Park, CA 95682
Phone: (530) 677-2203
Fax: (530) 676-1422
Arts & Museums
Exhibits at this museum include Gold Rush displays, mining and agricultural artifacts, local Native American baskets, and a collection of narrow gauge railroad equipment, such as a Shay locomotive. It also features a large research collection on local history and genealogy.
When country singer Johnny Cash sang "Folsom Prison Blues," America became familiar with this rough granite-walled state penitentiary. The prison was built in 1880 to handle the overload from San Quentin. Tours of the prison are not offered; however, the displays in the museum offer a realistic view of what life is like on the inside. Especially frightening is the display of weapons prisoners have made from everyday items. You can purchase crafts and other items made by prisoners. Admission is USD2 for persons age 12 and up.
Formerly a typical soda factory, The Fountain-Tallman Soda Works was transformed into the Fountain & Tallman Museum. The site is currently managed and maintained by the El Dorado County Historical Society. Owing to the specific requirement of the soda factory, the construction material and designing style used were to keep the ice and soda chilled. Hence, this building was able to withstand fires that engulfed its neighboring structures. At the museum, you can check-out the few remnants of the factory as well as exhibits pertaining to Placerville.
The old Folsom Powerhouse on the American River has changed little since its completion in 1869. Built by H.P. Livermore, the two-story Tennessee marble structure still has its original generators, transformers and switchboards. When the powerhouse was in operation, the transformers delivered from 800-11,000 volts of electricity 22 miles downstream to Sacramento. Today, visitors can view all of the old works including the canal system, which channeled water from the dam.
The Chew Kee Store was established by Yee Fung Cheung, a herb doctor, during the Gold Rush period. Now a museum, this store was home to several traditional chinese objects, including cigar boxes, medicinal herbs, opium and other products. These were brought in by the store's then merchant and operator, Chew Kee. The museum is a rammed earth structure, and is one of the last remaining Chinese structures that represents the once prosperous Chinese community of California.
Maidu Museum & Historic Site preserves the legacy of the Nisenan Maidu people who had inhabited the land for more than a thousand years. Apart from preserving this cultural site, the museum also hosts events and other programs on a regular basis.
Located at the edge of the Sierra Nevada Mountain's foothills, the Griffith Quarry Museum was site of the Penryn Granite Works office. The quarry was a granite miner and spans across 23 acres (9.31 hectares) of land comprising of interactive exhibits, period office furniture, displays of the granite industry and more. Explore the ruins of the polishing mill, the first of its kind in the state, to know more about the granite quarry. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1977.
The Gold Country Museum gives a glimpse of Placer County’s Gold Rush history with tunnel exhibits, miner's cabin and more. Explore the mystery trunks and pan gold to know more about the Gold Rush that took California by storm in the mid-nineteenth-century. The interactive exhibits which are kind of hands on will delight everyone visiting the museum.
Formerly a house and a hotel, this complex was then transformed in to a winery by its German owner. Later, it was transformed in to a museum, namely the Bernhard Museum Complex that showcases exhibits pertaining to that era and wine-making industry. For more details, call ahead.
Built in the early 1920s, this charming little building was originally constructed to serve as a private residence for the Yue family, before being converted into a Joss House to replace the one that had been destroyed by a fire a few years before. The house stands in a neighborhood that was home to the city's Chinese community during the 1880s. Following its closure in 1968, the house soon grew derelict due to neglect. Fortunately this precious gem was rescued and restored by a dedicated group of volunteers, and is now operated as a museum that chronicles the role played by the Chinese in the history and development of the city. The original layout of the building has been preserved, including an alter, community space and school room. The museum has come to house a variety of rare and intriguing artifacts, each with a fascinating story of its own. The museum is open only on the first Saturday of every month between 10a and 3p, however as it is entirely run by volunteers, so opening times may vary. Although the Joss House museum rarely features on tourist guides, it is certainly worth a visit for a glimpse into a chapter of the city's history that is easily and regretfully forgotten.
Set in the historic courthouse that was built in 1898, Placer County Museum occupies the first floor. It is among the six free museums of the town. It recounts the history of the county with its artifacts and gold collection. Definitely a must visit for history lovers.
The four galleries in this seven-year old museum offer a glimpse into the past. Some visitors will recognize a particular telephone and remember “how it used to be.” On display are more than 100 early wall telephones, early telephone booths and old technology going back to the 1890s. As far as current equipment, technology buffs will appreciate the cutaway of a typical underground cable vault and a display that commends the wonders of fiber optics. Admission is $1 for age 13 and older. Children under 12 are admitted free.