2302 10th Street
Bridgeport, TX 76426
Phone: (940) 683-5777
Fax: (940) 683-4345
One of the well-maintained parts of the city of Bridgeport, the Harwood Park is located in the center of the city. Spread over an extensive area of 8.3 acres (3.36 hectares), this park is a necessary recreational venue for the city folks, and has underwent renovations in 2007 to include additions like picnic pavilions, playgrounds, a swimming pool, and barbecue grills. The park also plays host to some major community events. See the website to know more.
The Decatur Public Library is a treasure trove of information and a haven for avid readers. Despite its modest size, the library boasts an impressive genealogy and local history section. Book clubs, movie screenings, art classes and fun events are often hosted at the library.
As you walk past the Wise County Courthouse, you won't be able to resist the urge to stop and stare at this magnificent, and stately structure of pink granite. Built in 1896, the courthouse is in fact the fourth to be built at the square. The courthouse has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places in recognition of its timeless architectural beauty. Tours of the courthouse are offered by the Decatur Main Street program.
The Wise County Heritage Museum is housed within the Administration Building of the world's first Junior-college, the historic Decatur Baptist College. The Administration Building of the college was constructed six years before the establishment of the college itself, and was intended for another school. Funded by generous donations from 20 of the county's men, the Decatur Baptist College was established in 1898. The Wise County Heritage Museum moved into the building in 1965 when the college took on the status of senior-college and shifted to another location. Today, this beautifully restored building sheds light upon the rich historical heritage of Wise County and its people through presentations, exhibits, reconstructions and varied programs. Contact the museum for information on guided tours.
Built in 1859, the Old Stone Prison is one of the city's oldest stone houses. The house served as a prison until it was sold in 1888. The Old Stone Prison was variously used as a waterworks building and a private residence until it was purchased by the Wise County Historical Society in 1967. The house still stands today and is recognized as a local historic landmark.
With a history that can be traced back to 1854, the Decatur First United Methodist Church is a splendid reminder of the dedication and devotion of the church's many followers, whose faith and perseverance have seen the church safely through periods of great difficulty and strife. The existing church building was constructed in 1914 and has retained much of its original beauty despite the additions and alterations that were made to it over the years. Of special note are the original stained glass windows that are over a 100 years old. Stately yet simple, the First United Methodist Church of Decatur continues on as a much revered place of worship even today.
Named after the philanthropist, William Harmon, this splendid park is just one of the many donated by him for the welfare of the community. The park features two baseball fields, a skate park, a playground and picnic spots.
This local historic landmark was built in 1882 by the renowned builder, S. W. Tilghman, as a private residence for his own family. Tilghman is best known as the visionary behind a number of Decatur's most stunning historic houses. S. W. Tilghman House remains a privately owned house even today.
The Petrified Wood Gas Station was originally built in 1927, sans the wood. At the time, this Texas Tourist Camp consisted of only the gas station and a few campsites. Over the years the owner added cabins and a cafe. The petrified wood cover was added in 1935, giving the motel a rather unusual appearance that still draws in visitors today. Although the gas station, cabins and cafe were all closed down by 1989, this historic landmark has once more been revived with the reopening of the restaurant under the name "Whistle Stop Cafe". Stop by and explore this unusual addition to the city's historic landscape.
Erstwhile home of the Wagonner family, this stately Victorian mansion is a remarkably well-preserved example of this style of architecture. Despite having passed through a number of hands over the years, the house has retained much of its original structure and beauty. The manion remains a private residence even today.
The Flat Rock Cemetery served a community of pioneers that settled down nearby in the 1850s. The earliest grave stones are dated 1878, however there are a number of unmarked graves as well. The cemetery is the final resting place of local hero, Sheriff George Stevens, and a few confederate veterans.