Quality Inn & Suites
8200 Park Road
Batavia, NY 14020
Phone: (585) 344-7000
Fax: (585) 343-4787
Arts & Museums
Genesee Country Village & Museum is a prestigious and innovative project. This living history museum, located in Mumford was founded by John (Jack) L. Wehle in 1966. He was a connoisseur and collector of art and he conceptualized the idea of setting up an entire model village. It took almost ten years to set up the entire complex and today it has one of the largest historic and art collections. The different sections dedicated to variety of activities like farming, weaving, pottery making and much more. You can also be a parrt of the village and participate in feeding the animals or join in card game. Genesee Country Village & Museum also hosts events and festivals on a regular basis. For more details, call ahead.
Cobblestone Society Museum is housed inside a unique building that is made entirely cobblestone which makes it one-of-its-kind in the whole world by their own admission. The museum showcases artifacts about masonry and other reminisces from what is known as the cobblestone era. You can take a guided tour by prior appointment that includes a trip to the cobblestone church as well. To know more about the museum, check the website.
This beautiful home designed in an amalgamation of Federal and Greek Revival styles is the Seth M. Gates House. In the past, it has hosted numerous meetings of well-known organizations and finally it was handed over to the Warsaw Historical Society. This society now operates it as a house museum, and was also included in the U.S. National Register of Historic Places.
This stone building, built in 1843 as a church meeting house, houses the collection of the Clarence Historical Society. Items include WWI and WWII artifacts, memorabilia from area churches and an automotive display, as the building once housed the local auto club. The technology wing, added in the mid-1990's, features the original red barn where Clarence resident, Wilson Greatbach, invented the implantable heart pacemaker in the 1950's. On the grounds of the museum is an 1825 log cabin, one of the oldest buildings in Clarence, which was moved here from the northern part of the town. – Christine A. Smyczynski