Bleikerasen 215, Asker, NO, 1387
- Phone: (47) 66 76 70 00
- Fax: (47) 66 76 70 77
This is Oslo's main street, a pedestrian area leading from the central station to the palace. Visitors can watch the world go by at one of the street's numerous watering holes or simply follow the crowds down the road, past street vendors and entertainers, past the parliament, national theatre, Grand Hotel and the university. With hundreds of different shops, the street is also a Mecca for shopaholics. The park between the parliament and national theater is turned into an ice-rink in the winter.
Three attractions share the same house. Edvard Munch, the painter, was born at Pilestredet 29 and lived here as a child. The mural of The Scream, based on Edvard Munch's painting and recreated here in black and white, is very impressive and was made by architecture students when the buildings were threatened by demolition. This is one of Oslo's few murals and should be seen. Close by is the Blitz building, which offers punk concerts and various political activities, as well as tasty waffles and cheap vegetarian food.
Spikersuppa is a temporary, open-air ice rink located right in the heart of the city between the parliament and National Theater. The 25 x 10 meter (82 x 33 foot) rink is open during the winter and makes a great place to spend an energetic hour or two, skating, enjoying the atmosphere, and admiring the city. Skates can be rented from the outdoor restaurant. A loudspeaker system provides the music and entrance is free. In the summer the ice rink is transformed into a pond.
The Parliament building houses the Norwegian Storting (Parliament) and dates back to 1866. The magnificent building was designed by the renowned architect Emil Victor Langlet. The facade is a beautiful blend of styles, mainly inspired from Italy and France. Visitors can enroll themselves for a guided tour of the entire structure. Private tours for groups can also be arranged upon request. The tours last approximately one hour. Admission is free.
Oslo Town Hall, located next to Akershus Fortress and right in front of the harbor, was inaugurated for the city's 900th anniversary in 1950. The impressive entrance hall is used for the Nobel Peace Prize award ceremony every December. The Town Hall is richly decorated inside and out by famous Norwegian artists from the first part of the 20th Century. Guided tours are available for free.
Kvadraturen is the heart of Christian IV's town Christiania, built after the town of Oslo was burnt down in 1624. The city was not renamed Oslo until 300 years later. The sculpture on Christiania Torv square symbolizes the King's words, when he decided 'The new town will lie here'. A statue of the King himself can be found on Stortorvet. Kvadraturen offers fine dining at Statholdergaarden, Mediterranean dishes at Celsius or dine in modern elegance at Brasserie Hansken. Check the website or contact +47 815 3 0555 for further information.
Many of the cathedral's contents date back to 1697, the year the building was consecrated. Alexis de Chateauneuf, the architect of the Trefoldighetskirke, restored the cathedral between 1849 and 1850, and further work was done on the structure from 1948 to 1950. The cathedral is located close to Stortorget in the center of Oslo. King Harald and Queen Sonja were married here, as were Crown Prince Haakon Magus and Mette-Marit. The cathedral is also used for concerts and the crypt house exhibitions. Admission is free.
Filadelfia is the largest Pentecostal church in downtown Oslo. Founded by Thomas Ball Barratt in 1916, it is considered to be most influential in the Pentecostal movement in Norway. It also arranges for various activities for the members of the congregation to display and improve their talents.
In 1849 Hamburg's great city planner Alexis de Chateauneuf won the competition to build a church for the Congregation of the Trinity. The building has a cruciform plan, crowned at the center with a copper-plated dome and a lantern at the apex. The Church of the Trinity was consecrated in 1858 and the entrance staircase was added in 1883. Inside you will find an altarpiece depicting Christ being baptized and a marble baptismal font. The church was re-consecrated in 1958 and after a thorough renovation was re-opened to the public in 1997.
Båtservice Sightseeing organizes fantastic sightseeing excursions by boat and coach. You can do anything from a mini-cruise on the fjord (50 minutes) to all-day combination tours by boat and coach, covering most of Oslo's attractions and landmarks. There is a tour for everyone! All tours depart from Pier 3 in front of the Town Hall. The season goes from May to September. The price varies depending on the tour. See their website for further details on times and prices, or call for a brochure.
Oslo's main library was established more than 200 years ago, when Carl Deichman bequeathed his vast collection of books to the city. Today, the Oslo Public Library houses over one million volumes. You will find the library building not far from the Trefoldighetskirken and the Goverment Offices. It is within easy walking distance of the city center. Supplementing the main building, there are 16 more specialized branches of the library scattered throughout the city.