Quality Inn & Suites Arden Hills - Saint Paul North
1125 Red Fox Rd
Arden Hills, MN 55112-6945
Phone: (651) 484-6557
Fax: (651) 484-9521
1125 Red Fox Rd, Arden Hills, MN, US, 55112-6945
- Phone: (651) 484-6557
- Fax: (651) 484-9521
Arts & Museums
James J. Hill's North Oaks Farm is a beautiful open air museum that features 3,300 acres (1,300 hectares) of land. The trails through the farm are used for walking, running, biking, etc. The Blacksmith Shop and Machine Shop was used as a place where the horses were shod and the hinges and the wagon wheels were constructed here that were to be used on the farm.
The Gibbs Museum of Pioneer and Dakotah Life compares the lives of Minnesota Pioneers with those of the Dakotah Indians who lived in the region. Costumed interpreters give tours of the site, which includes a 19th Century farm house, a unique one-room school house, barns, farm animals, a replica sod house, Dakotah tipi and artifacts, bark lodge, pioneer and Dakotah gardens, and more.
A short distance from the Northeast Art District, Svedberg Studios is an art installation in itself. Home of artist Lauri Svedberg, this property has been her expression of art since purchasing it in 1979. From the wood-planked exterior and skylights, to hand-painted furniture and murals indoors, the decor showcases her versatility in an array of media. Visit this place for a personalized tour by the friendly artist herself.
This five-hundred-twenty-square-foot gallery features many exhibits that are hosted and designed by the Visual Arts Committee of the Twin Cities Student Unions Programs.
For all those model railroad buffs out there, the Twin City Model Railroad Museum is the place to go. Miniature replicas of the American trains of the '30s, '40s, and '50s, perfect down to the last detail, chug along the tiny tracks and stations, to the delight of both young and old alike. Tour groups are also welcome.
The Firefighter's Hall & Museum chronicles and commemorates the bravery and heroism of the Fire Department. Located in an unassuming building, this museum showcases artifacts and memorabilia recovered from iconic tragedies in the years gone by. Exhibitions feature archives, an aerial ladder, an engine, exhaust fans, a fire alarm telegraph system and several other firefighting equipments. The hall is rented out for community and private events.
The Banfill Locke Center for The Arts is committed to the idea that art makes a difference to society and strives to promote awareness and appreciation for the same within the community. Housed within the historic Banfill Tavern and Locke House, the center has a wide variety of programs including drawing, painting and photography classes, exhibitions and family events, for all ages and abilities. The center also features a gift shop, art gallery, as well as artist and writer studios. It operates from Tuesdays to Saturdays between 10:00a and 4:00p.
The Sosin & Sosin Gallery showcases the work of Georgette Sosin and Henry Sosin. Georgette's mediums include sculptures, prints, and drawings. Henry's preferred media is pottery.
Renowned Minneapolis artist Doug Padilla’s studio is situated on the third floor of the California Building. Pay a visit to admire his signature work in contemporary and progressive art. The eclectic space features thought-provoking paintings, collages and iconography in an array of media. Stop by the lounge for an interesting conversation with the man himself.
Kids and adults alike love the touch-and-see room at this cozy museum located on the University of Minnesota campus. Snake skins, animal pelts and bones, rocks and fossils can be felt, picked up and examined. In addition, there are fascinating 3-dimensional displays of Minnesota's major habitats as they were more than 150 years ago complete with lifelike animals and plants. More than 100 species of Minnesota birds and animals are shown in their native surroundings. The museum's store has an excellent selection of wildlife and ecology books. Admission is free on Sundays. See website for more details.
A collection of working locomotives, steamships, train depots, roundhouses, trolleys and motor coaches brings the history of local transportation alive. The MTM has five exhibit sites in and around the Twin Cities area that are visited by more than 100,000 people annually. The various restored depots and roundhouse allow visitors to travel back to the golden age of the railroads.The most popular exhibit is the Como-Harriet Streetcar Line, a rebuilt portion of what used to be the nation's largest urban rail service that was a 500-mile system in its heyday. Restored cars dating from the late 1800s and early 1900s run a two-mile round trip course between Lakes Harriet and Calhoun in South Minneapolis. Cars run every 15 minutes and passengers can board at the Linden Hills Station or the Lakewood Cemetery platform. The museum's other big draw is the Minnehaha, a 1906 steamboat which used to ferry streetcar passengers all over Lake Minnetonka. Back from a watery grave, the restored steamboat is as good as new and spruced up with a snazzy maroon and gold paint job.
Located on the site of Minnesota's first railroad maintenance shop, this museum encourages visitors to learn about the railroad industry. Visitors learn about the history of the railroad and can watch the maintenance of passenger cars and locomotives, which operate in the Osceola and St. Croix Valley Railway in Wisconsin. The roundhouse was built in 1907 as part of the Jackson Street complex, founded shortly after the Civil War, to service and maintain steam locomotives. Several public grants and many volunteers have helped in the restoration of the Roundhouse. Parking is available on-site.