Quality Inn Mount Vernon
7212 Richmond Hwy.
Alexandria, VA 22306
Phone: (703) 765-9000
Fax: (703) 765-2325
The Huntley Meadows Nature Center in the Hybla Valley of Virginia, is a wetland park. Established since 1975, the park is home to a variety of wildlife, especially birds. Visitors can make use of observation decks to spot wildlife or walk along designated trails. Various creeks run through the vast expanse of the park and one can find beaver dams built across them at many places. The visitor center provides more information about the flora and fauna residing in the park.
A gracious Georgian style manor house which is surrounded by 175 year old boxwood gardens and was once part of a 2,000 acre plantation owned by George Mason. The house was also once the home of George Mason's third son, Thomson Mason, who lived there until his death in 1820.
Founded by West Ford, a former slave of George Washington's family, who acquired the property in 1833, this area was helped by Quakers and became a place for runaways and recently freed slaves to live. Exhibits at the museum celebrate the long continuity of this historic black community which, today, has more than 2,500 residents, with as many as 500 being descendants of the original families.
A quaint, scenic marina that offers a wide range of services including wet and dry storage, a launching ramp, moorings, and rack storage. The Mariner Sailing School, the largest sailing school in the Washington, D.C., area is also on site and it offers a full range of sailing and windsurfing lessons, as well as boat rentals.
George Washington owned this 27-acre estate that is now home to the American Horticulture Society. Part of the manor dates to before the American Revolution, and visitors may explore the gracious mansion on self-guided tours. Stroll through the 12 thematically designed gardens. One features butterflies, another the sundial and yet another is devoted to the ever-popular dinosaur. History buffs may wander the colonial garden or learn about Washington's interest in horticulture. He introduced walnut, coffee bean and Osage-orange trees to the farm.
Situated on 25 acres overlooking the Potomac River, this historic 25 acre estate was once owned by George Washington and is now the headquarters of the American Horticultural Society. The farm's gardens include rose and perennial borders, idea gardens, children's gardens, and special plantings by local horticultural societies.
Contrabands and Freedmen Cemetery is located in Alexandria, Virginia. In 1987, the city of Alexandria started the preservation process of the cemetery to build a memorial park. The site got added to the National Register of Historic Places on August 15, 2012.
The Jones Point Light is a small wooden lighthouse built on the banks of Potomac River. First lit in in 1856, it was functional until 1995. It went through several restorations in the past. The house is closed to the public, however you can enjoy the lights's and the river's beauty from the outside.
Founded in 1862, the Alexandria National Cemetery is one of the many cemeteries that were built in 1862. The Cemetery served as a burial ground for all the Union soldiers who died in the hospitals during the Civil War era. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1995.
A craft brewery that produces an exciting line of quality, locally crafted ales for the DC and mid-Atlantic markets. The brewery's tasting room serves a sample of their new and seasonal beers and is open Wednesday through Sunday for growler refills. Tours are offered Friday through Sunday.
From beneath the 90-foot (30-meter) portico, visitors can gaze across an expanse of sloping lawn to the Potomac River as its flows past Mount Vernon. This 17th-century plantation house was once home to the first President of the United States, George Washington. The property was originally owned by Washington's father, Augustine, and George replaced a smaller, more modest home with Mount Vernon when he came into the property, beginning in 1758. Today, costumed guides narrate the history of the elegant mansion and of the surrounding buildings, which have been preserved to reflect the days when the first president resided here. Visitors are invited to walk around the 500-acre (200-hectare) estate, tour the buildings and participate in the "Hands-on History" exhibits that recreate farming techniques and colonial games.
Children and other fans of firefighters and their equipment will enjoy visiting Alexandria's oldest firehouse, built in 1871. The Friendship Fire Company itself pre-dates the building by 100 years and is rumored to have been a pet project of George Washington's. Restored in the 1990s, the Firehouse offers visitors a look at the equipment used since the nation's founding. Also displayed are the clothes firefighters wore throughout this company's history. Special exhibits are often held.